New Build Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2014, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Question New Build Help

Hey folks,

It's been a very long while since I built myself a computer. Last computer I built had a AMD Athlon XP in it. Anyway, my mom asked me to build a new computer for them and I received the parts today, but when I assembled it and hit the power button, it powers up for about 3 seconds, then shuts off for about 3 seconds then keeps the cycle going until I hit the I/O button on the back of the PSU. No POST, nothing.

Gigabyte GZ-ZA Series ATX mid-case.
Gigabyte GA-H81-D3 Motherboard
Intel Pentium G3240 CPU
Dual Channel Team Elite+ RAM TPD316G1333HC9DC01
MSI R7 240 ATI Graphics Card
Rosewill Capstone 450W PSU
Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA HDD
Pioneer Blu-Ray BDR-209DBK

I have removed the graphics cards and tested the PSU with the "paperclip test". The PSU turned on and ran the fan with no issue. No difference with the graphics card removed. I doubled checked all the front button and light connections. Am I missing something?
__________________

mtylerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: New Build Help

Sounds like it's shorting out. Trying no GPU, no HDD, one stick of RAM on the motherboard box.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: New Build Help

I tried as you suggested. First with two sticks (doesn't dual channel require both?) and then with only a single stick. No hard drive and it was removed and sitting on the box it originally came in. Did the exact same thing. Cycled for 3 seconds on then off then repeat.

PS, I appreciate the quick reply.
mtylerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: New Build Help

Dual channel does require 2 sticks but for the sake of troubleshooting trying one stick at a time is always best. Double check to make sure the heatsinks is on the CPU properly and if you have another stick of RAM you can confirm working try that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 10:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default

I unfortunately don't have more RAM to try. A little frustrating. I will see if I can find some to install. I've triple checked the seating of the CPU and heatsink to ensure proper seating.

What is the likelihood of faulty RAM causing no POST errors? What is the likelihood of this being a DOA motherboard?

Appreciate the help so far.

Tyler
mtylerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 10:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: New Build Help

Likelihood is high which is why I asked to use a different set of RAM. Looking more like motherboard to me though.

What about the PC you're using now? Any desktop DDR3 will work.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 10:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default

Unfortunately the only desktop I have is an old one running an Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe mobo which uses DDR, not DDR3. This build is for my dad as a gift for Father's day from my mom.

I'm tempted to just RMA the board and get a new one.
mtylerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 11:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: New Build Help

If you don't have any parts you can borrow then yea you'll have to.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 05:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default

I overnighted a new motherboard and installed it yesterday. After plugging everything in, it booted up without issue.

Put a Gigabyte Z97-HD3 in, since it was local.
mtylerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: New Build Help

Good deal. Overkill, but good deal.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member, New Build, New to Building. Kj_Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 0 02-26-2012 04:15 PM
HELP ON NEW BUILD! Sandy Bridge i7-2600k FIRST BUILD EVER!! Tips are highly appreciated! bvuong New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-12-2011 07:09 PM
New System Build: Recommendations Please On This Build & Thank You H2wOah New Systems | Building and Buying 40 02-15-2008 06:47 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM
Help Help Help Help Help Help Asap ITZBVAN005 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 12-12-2005 02:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.