New Build Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login

Old 10-06-2012, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Question New Build Help

Hello all, new to the forums hoping I can find some help here. I'm trying to upgrade my computer (which basically is new since I bought everything to replace the old stuff) anyway, I'm able to get to the POST screen and adjust my bios the problem is when I try to install windows 7 it keeps telling me I need the drivers for my cd/dvd player. I have the installation disk for it but still can't find them.

The installation disk I have for windows is a iso image which is completely legal I got it using my MSDN accoutn, but on previous builds that didn't seem to matter. I also have 6 sata on the motherboard and 1 e-sata port

I'm pretty new to using sata hardware so I'm not sure if I need to have the hardware plugged in to a certain port or if it matters since I'm using only 1 hard drvie. Anyway here is what I'm working with:

-Asus Crosshair V Formula MB
-AMD fx 8160 8 core CPU
-GeForce 660ti 2gb VGA card
-8gb ram samsung 1600
-Asus dvd rw

Thanks for any help you can give me

skatrrklamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru

Default Re: New Build Help

You need to burn that ISO to a DVD or put it on a flash drive then boot from that media.

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

I have it on disc, and I've tried copying the files to an external hard drive but I couldn't get the files to copy, I kept running into read/write errors. I have an windows xp disk so I'm going to see if I can get it running with that first, get all my drivers and updates then try again. thanks for the help
Old 10-06-2012, 04:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru