New Build... HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2006, 08:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default New Build... HELP!

Very basically, i'm getting bored with my current setup and fancy a new system. However, i've ben out of the loop for a while and haven't really been keeping up with GFX card updates or processr updates or whatever (although i'm pretty sure with the budget i'm on I wont be going for anything too high end :S)

So, if i was to keep my current case, and PSU (which I belive is 400w... so i'll probably need to upgrade that and all) and probably Heatsink and fan, what coud I build for around £800 to £900 (preferrably less... much less, but I can't see that happening)

Oh and i'd like to stick to AMD I think.. unless intels cheaper, and god forbid, better now

What else... I game a lot, so GFX card should probably pretty good. OOH and i'll keep my RAM as well... and probably get a second. If it works with it. otherwise i'll need a new one. ****.

Phew
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

ok your proccessor isnt good at all so its a socket 754. and i cant seem to find any nice proccessors for socket 754. they are all sempron and there is one athlon 3000 but that wont be too much of an improvement. you maybe want to get a new mobo that supports 775 so u can get a core 2 duo e6300. and get this videocard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=48

i cant find a motherboard that supports core 2 duo sli and your pc3200ram. so here is a mobo that supports core 2 duo your ram and pci-x. honestly i would not buy that motherboard because it is crap but it is a great price. most core 2 duo motherboards have to have ddr 2.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...ard+%2D+Retail

mobo-55$
vidcard-135$(or if u upgrade to ddr2 and get a sli mobo u can get 2)
another gb of ram-100$
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

yeah i'm guessing i'm gonna need a completely new build. and i had a feeling i might need new RAM. Which was the GFX card you were talking about? theres a few on that page for 135...
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.