New build does not boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2014, 07:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: New build does not boot

You don't have to take everything out but taking the board out is necessary to make sure there is no short coming from your case.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 01:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 23
Default Re: New build does not boot

Os so I will take out the board and most of the things on it. Also I once took out the PSU out of rhe case and tried running it without anything plugged in but the fan on it did not start.
__________________

PolishXlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 10:12 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 23
Default Re: New build does not boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You don't have to take everything out but taking the board out is necessary to make sure there is no short coming from your case.
I have done as you suggested. The Computer still does not start up withpu the GPU. It only has 1 ram slot filled up and nothing else connected. The thing does not start up.
PolishXlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 10:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: New build does not boot

Send the PSU back then.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 10:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 23
Default Re: New build does not boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Send the PSU back then.
I am bought it in a "netpoint" so I have to drive all the way to Warsaw (Capital) to get it back. Thanks for the help! You were awesome with the replies!
PolishXlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 06:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cochrane Alberta
Posts: 6
Default Re: New build does not boot

If you have to drive a long ways you can never go wrong by getting a PSU tester while you're there. I have one from Antec on the bench for a quick test... just good or bad lights, super easy and accurate. I also have one that tells me all the voltages so I can tell of just one line is low on power. They should be able to test the PSU at the store while you wait, it only takes a minute.

Ron
themugman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 01:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: New build does not boot

Yea I kinda wish I had a PSU tester too.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 08:29 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cochrane Alberta
Posts: 6
Default Re: New build does not boot

You can get one online the same as I have right from Antec, here's the link.
Antec.com - Product: Digital PC Power Tester
themugman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 09:34 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: New build does not boot

I was going to say the same thing. With a psu tester you'd be able to rule it out right away. If you return the PSU and it's working fine, then you've just wasted a whole lot of time.
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 11:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: New build does not boot

Quote:
Yea I kinda wish I had a PSU tester too.
you can get a psu tester for less than $20.
Rosewill RTK-PST Digital LCD Power Supply Tester - Newegg.com

I have one identical to this but it's under a different name brand,Coolmax. A couple years ago these were selling for $10. I can't believe how expensive they have gotten now

Edit: you can get the Coolmax brand from Tiger Direct
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...FQsSMwodbXsADw
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Machine will not boot - clear CMOS does not help stevedub Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-01-2009 12:11 AM
The AutoPlay Function Does Not Work and the Current Media Does Not Appear in My Compu james84sg Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-26-2005 10:36 AM
pc does not boot up rookie1010 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-02-2004 08:30 AM
Win XP, sytem does not boot girardibanez Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-14-2003 07:24 AM
Win XP, sytem does not boot girardibanez Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-14-2003 07:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.