New build disaster. Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2007, 09:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default New build disaster. Help!

Hey all, finally got all my pc stuff through the post today. Built it all up fully (e6600, gigabyte ga 965p ds3, corsair 520w psu, 2gb gskill, bfg 8800gts 320, segate barracuda 250gb, arctic cooling freezer) and as i was going to plug in the monitor to try it all out, DISASTER! the monitor connector wont connect to anywhere in the back panel and the 8800gts only has 2 greyish coloured connectors. i'm still using an old crt monitor with a blue connector. sorry i dont know any names. i THINK it's called an hd 15 connector for the monitor but i'm not sure. and possibly dvi onthe gfx card, again, not sure...

is there any way around this without buying a new monitor? a converter perhaps?
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 09:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

Your CRT monitor, has a VGA connector(that blue connector). And the gray connector, you were referring to, is called the DVI connector. So you would need a VGA to DVI adapter. The video card, should of came with one or two, of those. Check in the graphic card's box.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

oh dear. now i feel a little stupid. it came with two of them in a seperate little compartment.
Thanks for your help.
I'm going to go and bury my head for a while...
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

lol yer, it comes with adaptors lol, you should think about upgrading your monitor aswell, dvi is better isnt it??
khan008 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

arguably better monitors generally come with dvi but the cable in practice isn't actually that much better
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

theres two dvi to vga conectors and vice-versa adaptor so u can plug in ur newer LCD in ur older video card, and one for this situation
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

Yeah I previously had a nice Dell 17'' WS LCD with a DVI connection.....now I have a 19'' WS Belinea with a VGA connector and I can't tell a darn bit of difference.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

i think vga is in anologue but dvi is in digital so therefore dvi can pass more information? or is that a load of crap
khan008 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

i was expecting something along of the lines, it got fried or it won't post.....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: New build disaster. Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by khan008 View Post
i think vga is in anologue but dvi is in digital so therefore dvi can pass more information? or is that a load of crap
No it's not about the amount of information that can be passed, it's about the quality.

In theory a LCD screen running on a VGA cable will have data going from the graphics card through the VGA cable in analogue...and then must be converted to a digital signal which can result in the loss of some quality...also the length of VGA cables matters as the signal to noise ratio will go down the further along you go down the cable...but on a DVI cable as long as a 0 or 1 ends up at the end then that's all that counts...

So if you have a long distance from the puter to the monitor then DVI is the better choice.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking my Build... Aynite New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-02-2007 05:28 PM
Should I add a raptor to my build? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-26-2007 01:52 PM
Intel or Amd for new gaming build? Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-26-2007 09:42 AM
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.