New build..cant boot... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
magezzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default New build..cant boot...

Getting "DISK BOOT FAILURE. INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" message, I AM able to get into bios and change/save settings etc. The comp is in my sig, thx.
__________________

__________________
E6750
LG DVD-R
Seagate 320GB
Corsair HX 620W
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
OCZ 2x1GB Revision 2 PC6400 800Mhz
magezzz is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

Does the BIOS detect the HD?
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

Have you even installed windows yet?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

That is usually the message you get, when Windows hasn't been installed, or the hard drive isn't being detected, like the others have mentioned.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

Installed Windows? Checked if your HDD is detected in BIOS?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Installed Windows? Checked if your HDD is detected in BIOS?
Do that and if it is then check the boot order in your bios and have it boot from your disc drive first. It should then see your windows cd and you can install from there.
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

yeah wat pdawg said chek boot sequence. set disk drive to first so itll load straight from that
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
magezzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

1) No idea what dvd drive jumpers are/do.

2) I'm going to try a different CD drive.

3) Going to make sure SATA RAID/AHCI MODE is disabled.

4) Re-seat the IDE wires (Only the dvd drive is using IDE cables.)

5) I haven't installed windows yet.

6) The HD (SD...blahblah) 320GB is being read in bios, I dont see DVD Drive though.
__________________
E6750
LG DVD-R
Seagate 320GB
Corsair HX 620W
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
OCZ 2x1GB Revision 2 PC6400 800Mhz
magezzz is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

Okay, first of all does it post? If it doesnt post, theres likely some PSU, CPU and RAM issues not connected properly or the PSU not giving power to the CPU thus cpu is undetected. If it doesnt post then of course you cant install windows.

though it looks to me that it posted because you said you can get into the bios.

Try disconnecting your drive and connect it again. Also do you have power in your dvd drive? Is it plugged in the molex connector from your PSU? does it even open up? if not try using a different molex power from your PSU.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: New build..cant boot...

You'll need to get your DVD Drive detected. Since the HD is unformatted, it can't boot the machine. You'll need to place the Windows install disk in the DVD Drive so the Windows CD can boot the machine, format the disk....
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
New Build System Boot Linux/Windows... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-31-2007 02:46 PM
Question about setting up a tri boot /w a raid. kiyotaka Linux and Open Source 2 07-13-2007 03:28 PM
New build won't boot from cd. ohGrFreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-04-2007 01:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.