New build but no image on screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default New build but no image on screen (updated)

Upgraded my computers Motherboard, CPU, and Graphics card to a Asus A8N-E, AMD64 3000+, and Nvidia 6800gto (gto are from dells and I bought it used).
When I turn it on everything comes on and I get no beeps but my screen remains blank. I use a DVI to VGA convertor to send the image to my monitor.

Any ideas on what the problem could be????
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

maybe the GTO? dell parts are known to be racist.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Try the video card in a different system.
turtile is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

The card is reconginized in my device manager but I still get no video. Could the outputs just of become unoperatable or something.
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

i had the same thing with my set up... only DVI works, im not really sure why

i have a 6800 too
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
The card is reconginized in my device manager but I still get no video
that would imply you have another video device, correct? try disabling that one or removing it
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 04:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
maybe the GTO? dell parts are known to be racist.
Yeah _.|.. DELL! Stupid proprietary power supplies!
P-Zero is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 02:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
that would imply you have another video device, correct? try disabling that one or removing it
I tried that and it doesn't work.

Quote:
i had the same thing with my set up... only DVI works, im not really sure why
I'm using a dvi convertor since I don't have a dvi monitor. (Its tested and works so thats not the problem.)

Well another weird thing is that I try installing the drivers for the card in windows so it can be recognized properly but I get a stop error and the computer crashes... Anybody know what that could be from?
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 02:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

You changed you motherboard, so now Windows doesn't recognize the system as "its" system.

Boot off of your Windows disk and have it do a repair.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 06:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I've already done a fresh install of windows since changing motherboards. Windows works fine its just the 6800 doesn't display anything and if I try to install drivers I get a stop error.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.