New build.. big upgrade.. worried. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2006, 03:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default New build.. big upgrade.. worried.

Well I'm currently running one of those cheapo Toshiba laptops. 1.4Ghz Celeron M, 256mb nasty ram, 64m of which is shared with the X200M graphics! Wow, just amazing!

Anyway, I decided an upgrade is in order. I figured with what money I have, a $1300 AU budget is my absolute maximum for just the tower setup. So I've put together a few things, and I would appreciate some advice/critcisms One thing I know is really down is the CPU.. I was trying to look at some way I could afford an X2 processor.. but they're just too pricey. Then the whole Conroe idea came along.. but.. I want this PC now.. I NEED it. I'm not looking for a mind blowing system, just something that will run the latest games at high detail levels. So this is what I have put together:

MOTHERBOARD. PRICE - $185
MSI K9N Platinum Socket AM2 Motherboard

PROCESSOR. PRICE - $170 or so
AMD Athlon64 3500+ Socket AM2 (GD)

HARDDRIVE. PRICE - $115
Western Digital 200 gig 7200rpm SATAII JS (120gig is $96) (GD)

RAM. PRICE - $235
Corsair 2Gb PC5300 DDR2-667 Value Select Kit (VTI)

GRAPHICS. Price - $470
XFX 7900GT EXTREME 256meg DDR3 520MHz Dual DVI TV-Out SLI Ready Model: PV-T71G-UDERn (GD)

POWER SUPPLY. Price - $109 (GD)
Antec 450watt Smart Power ver2.0

TOTAL - $1283 - NO CASE, DVD PLAYER, KB/Mouse, screen etc.

VTI = vtechindustries.com.au
GD = gamedude.com.au

ALL PRICES IN AUD

Thanks

Edit: Also forgot to add, that after I upgraded the CPU, I was thinking I would then grab a 75gb raptor? But that's in the future anyway.. haven't even got the system yet.
__________________

Khann is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 04:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

If that's the case... why not go with S939 mobo and processor... you can get them a little cheaper. Go with a GB (DDR) of ram for now... You can probably cut the mobo price in half, same with the RAM.
Then you can possibly order the other periph's you don't have... having a case to put all this in would be a novel idea, ya'think?
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 04:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

Yeah I already have a case organised.

The only reason I even went with the AM2 idea is because its pretty much the same price as 939.
Khann is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.