New Build advice needed - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2008, 03:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: New Build advice needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
i heard that u need to subtract 3.5GB with the memory of the GPU and thats how much RAM will be used

cliff try check in ur USER CP -> Options
I have "instant email notification" selected in my options?
I checked the email I am using and it seems fine and there is nothing from here in my junk or spam folders?

What do you mean by: "u need to subtract 3.5GB with the memory of the GPU and thats how much RAM will be used"

do you mean that if you have 4 GB of ram and your GPU uses .5 GB then you are using 3 GB? (3.5-.5=3)

Regardless, I thought that it was only 3 and not 3.5 GB of ram that xp32 uses so I might as well get 2 pairs of 2x1GB modules.


What is the best way to set up for back up? I use 1 internal and 1 external myself. but what is the best way? would it be to have a second internal that you ghost the main HDD from? It would seem better than using a patition?

Is RAID the way to go? (I need to study up on it) for backing up or is standard ok. RAID is good to make the seperate HDD"s act as one right.

anyway, thanks again for the suggestions, I can't wait to build something I wished I had so it is good practice and a good thing to have someone that wants the best (or better than most)

cheers
__________________

__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: New Build advice needed

If you have a GPU that has 512MB of memory and u have 32-bit os

Total Memory That OS Supports - Memory Of GPU = Total RAM will be used

3.5GB - 512MB = 3GB of RAM that will be used

i dont think RAID is worth it. i think it slows down the hdd and maybe hdd will die faster not sure

i think u should go with 1 internal with 7200RPM and maybe atleast 5400RPM external. the internal will have the os and drivers and maybe the external will have files that wont give error on the other computer

check with a moderator with the email problem
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 06:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: New Build advice needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
If you have a GPU that has 512MB of memory and u have 32-bit os

Total Memory That OS Supports - Memory Of GPU = Total RAM will be used

3.5GB - 512MB = 3GB of RAM that will be used
I think that's only so if you have onboard graphics. I have 8600gt with 256MB and 4GB of ram and 32bit Xp sees 3.5 GB. (task manager displayes 3668396 kb of physical memory).
jantar is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 07:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build advice needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
If you have a GPU that has 512MB of memory and u have 32-bit os

Total Memory That OS Supports - Memory Of GPU = Total RAM will be used

3.5GB - 512MB = 3GB of RAM that will be used

i dont think RAID is worth it. i think it slows down the hdd and maybe hdd will die faster not sure

i think u should go with 1 internal with 7200RPM and maybe atleast 5400RPM external. the internal will have the os and drivers and maybe the external will have files that wont give error on the other computer

check with a moderator with the email problem
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantar View Post
I think that's only so if you have onboard graphics. I have 8600gt with 256MB and 4GB of ram and 32bit Xp sees 3.5 GB. (task manager displayes 3668396 kb of physical memory).
That is correct jantar, its the same reason that 1gb of VRAM sucks even more lol
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 10:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: New Build advice needed

oh ty for verifying it cz i wasnt sure
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 06:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: New Build advice needed

For video cards, I suggest you get something from the Quadro series.
It's supposedly yummy for cad.
__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 02:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build advice needed

Not exactly, most Quadro cards are too pricey for his build, he could easily get a FireGL (ATi's CAD Card) or get a cheap HD 2 or 3 series and softmod it to a FireGL card, and they usually perform better than the Quadro Series
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New build...need advice w-r-g New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-14-2008 11:06 AM
My first build...advice? Bankfishin New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-31-2007 01:21 PM
New Build (Need Advice) msaitta New Systems | Building and Buying 23 07-11-2007 07:34 PM
Need Advice on Gaming Build < $1400 foskey New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-12-2007 08:23 PM
New build advice needed sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-12-2007 11:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.