New Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Default New Build

I am building a new computer with about a 2,500 dollar budget (minues a moniter). I have ideas already, but I would like to quary this forum for their advice for my upcoming system. I plan to use this system primarily for pushing polygons on 3d modeling programs such as Maya, 3dsMAX. However, I also want my system to gamer friendly.
Any replies are greatly appreciated.
__________________

Liamo0o is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Default

I am also going to be very heavy on multi-tasking
__________________

Liamo0o is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

definitely go with a dual core processor. someone else can help you decide either pentium or amd because I'm not sure which would be best in this situation. also, i'd go with 2gb dual channel ram.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Default

I am caught between intel or AMD duo, I heard intel was more stable and better for multi tasking - but AMD better for games...
Liamo0o is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

well if i am correct, AMD will also be better for general rendering of polygons and such in 3d programs such as the ones described. a general nvidia or ati card should be fine, unless you would like to invest in a workstaton card.

the dual core AMD processors will beat intel's in almost every way, even the EE... just to keep that in mind
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 11:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

I would go AMD, with that budget a Opteron or X2
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Get an Opteron 165 or 170. Then you can OC it to very high speeds. I would go with AMD too because they are very good for your workstation work, as well as when playing games. For gaming, my AMD x2 3800 beats the 1000 dollar pentium EE. But if you got an Opteron and OCed it, it would kick ***. Get 2 gbs of ram too. - Charlie
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to J4keSte4ds
Default

AMD
J4keSte4ds is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

edited out.
GageMW is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Well, if you want a 7800 GT, definetely spend the extra 20 bucks and get a 7900 gt, or maybe even a 7900 gtx.
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.