New build - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2016, 06:55 PM   #31 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: New build

Quote:
Originally Posted by acerinpa View Post
Of coarse, it could be the fact that the win7 OS is OEM and he is trying to put it in a new PC ( well new case, MOBO, CPU, and RAM but same Hard drive, CD, GPU) . I don't know. I told him to buy a new OS ,but he wanted to at least try first.
Quote:
Originally Posted by acerinpa View Post
OK - I think there is more issues than that. I am actually trying myself now rather than via hear say. Tried booting myself "normally" after being in bios and saw a blue screen that flashed instantly and then it made the system reboot which brought you back to screen that asked if you wanted to boot normally or in repair mode. Then tried in repair mode and that when the USB's shutdown.
Different hardware profile for Windows 7. You have a 50/50 shot of being able to just switch the drive over...I've only ever seen it work with Win7 Pro. You're gonna have to reinstall the OS from scratch if it's BSOD'ing on startup from being in a different machine, as there's no "repair" option to get rid of the old hardware profile. Even running Sysprep before swapping the drive doesn't always work.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 10:56 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

Well- we got it. First using a PS2 keyboard/mouse to boot win7 repair - it failed. Then rebooted into bios and set boot order to disc and with the PS2 keyboard and mouse to navigate we installed drivers from the included MSI MOBO disc to get the proper USB's drivers, chipset, etc. Then rebooted and did a fresh install of win7 from his original WIn7 home disc which did not erase all his custom game folders,etc. Then rebooted into Bios and set boot order back to HDD, rebooted then could use regular mouse/keyboard and Win7 worked. We just reinstalled the latest catalyst beta drivers for the 290 GPU and I think he is under control.

I suggested he update bios as he is on version 1.0, 1.7 is the latest Bios version, but I think he is gun shy and feels he dogged a bullet already.
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 07:04 AM   #33 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: New build

It's not a fresh install if there isn't a partition wipe. So basically all you did was a glorified repair on the current install to give the OS the new machine code.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 09:25 AM   #34 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: New build

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
It's not a fresh install if there isn't a partition wipe. So basically all you did was a glorified repair on the current install to give the OS the new machine code.
If he did an in-place install it's still a fresh install, just moves everything to Windows.old.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 09:46 AM   #35 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: New build

Which technically isn't fresh as the drive isn't wiped and the rest of the folders retained besides Windows. That's taking a dirty shop rag to wax your car.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 12:02 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

Well- it worked. Weather its a true fresh install or a fix- which is what I think we basically did. IT doesn't really matter..


So if he purchased a new drive- SSD or even regular HDD , install it in the new PC and loaded his Win7 home basic on it - again using the code on the box ( not sure it would install on completely new drive) - but since he is installing it in the same PC as the OS is already working in, if you called MS would they give him a new code for that install? Seems like a lot of work and hassle for $100. But, I am not in the same financial shape as he is.

If he did get a real fresh install on a drive on the new PC. Then moved his files/games over to it from the old drive that has the "fixed" win7 on it currently, then Wiped the old drive, then moved the files/games back to the old wiped clean HHD and kept the OS on the new drive ( SSD ) then he would be solid with games and older files on the the older HHD and the SSD for the OS?
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 12:13 PM   #37 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: New build

If he got an SSD it'd probably be easier to clone it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 12:20 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

If he clones it wont it be just " wiping it with a dirty rag " still? He was having difficulty updating win7 even before he decided to build the new PC - don't think he has updated it for nearly a year.
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 12:27 PM   #39 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: New build

Meh, I never update Windows and when some slip by they cause me issues. Like my current not having any USB 3 issue.

It's up to him whatever he decides to do. Want to fresh install? Then wipe the partitions and start from scratch. Either that or buy an SSD, clean install on that, and delete everything except what he wants to keep on the HDD.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 12:34 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

How true- Especially with some the win7 updates that are really just prep/marketing for win10 - including icons, etc. = irritating!!
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member, New Build, New to Building. Kj_Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 0 02-26-2012 04:15 PM
HELP ON NEW BUILD! Sandy Bridge i7-2600k FIRST BUILD EVER!! Tips are highly appreciated! bvuong New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-12-2011 07:09 PM
New System Build: Recommendations Please On This Build & Thank You H2wOah New Systems | Building and Buying 40 02-15-2008 06:47 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM
New Member.....Looking to build new system Kaniver Overclocking and Modding 9 07-13-2004 08:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.