New build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2015, 10:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

I figured you knew something I did not, so I ordered them. They confirmed that the dual monitors would be for playing a game on one - Turn based, and while the AI or opponent is taking their turn they want to watch video,etc.
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: New build

Quote:
Originally Posted by acerinpa View Post
I figured you knew something I did not, so I ordered them.
I bet he wishes people would do that more often :P
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 05:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

Yes- I bet that is very true. Many ask for help, then argue- DUH!! Hopefully, installing the CPU water cooler will be as easy as he says. I am always nervous about putting water and electricity together.
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 05:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: New build

It's a sealed loop. Long as you don't put a ridiculous amount of pressure on the tubes you'll be fine. My H50 from 2009 still runs like a champ.

Install the cooler is as easy as putting backplate on, and tightening 4 screws to said backplate to mount the block. Done. Make sure to wipe off poopy stock paste and replace with something good.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 06:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

It sounds tooooo easy!!! to be true....
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 11:53 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

Well , finally ordered the Skylake (i5 6600K) , no GPU - he wants to use his current 290 for a while.

He decided on:

This PSU = CORSAIR RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Power Supply - Newegg.com

This MOBO = MSI Z170-A PRO LGA 1151 Intel Z170 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 01:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: New build

Would have made more sense to buy the new GPU instead of buying an overly powered expensive PSU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 01:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

yep- what are you going to do? In their defense. New GPU= $300+ , over powered PSU = $30.
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 02:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: New build

Well, 130, but that money could have been put back if the current PSU was decent enough. If it hasn't blown with a 290 it'll be fine with whatever Nvidia card is used later.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 05:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: New build

I think the old PSU is fried - Maybe from the 290 or just because it was not a great PSU to begin with and only a 650 watt. Hard to say.
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member, New Build, New to Building. Kj_Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 0 02-26-2012 04:15 PM
HELP ON NEW BUILD! Sandy Bridge i7-2600k FIRST BUILD EVER!! Tips are highly appreciated! bvuong New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-12-2011 07:09 PM
New System Build: Recommendations Please On This Build & Thank You H2wOah New Systems | Building and Buying 40 02-15-2008 06:47 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM
New Member.....Looking to build new system Kaniver Overclocking and Modding 9 07-13-2004 08:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.