New Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2007, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default New Build

CD/DVD player:
Newegg.com - ASUS Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 14X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe - Retail

Case:
Newegg.com - Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

Hard drive:
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

PCU:
Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 EPS12V EPS12V 610W Continuous @ 40°C Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, cUL, CE, CB, TUV - Retail

Thermal compound:
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING MX-2 Thermal Compound - Retail

Memory:
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
(x2)

Mobo:
Newegg.com - ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

CPU:
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

OS:
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows Vista 64-Bit Ultimate for System Builders Single Pack DVD - OEM

Heatsink:
Newegg.com - Tuniq Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler - Retail

Video Card:
8800 gts rev2 plan on stepping up to 9 series if its released in the time frame.

Monitor:
not really sure, something 22in or bigger. im going to look local.

So, i gotta few questions. would it be beneficial to run 2 250gb hard drives in raid as apposed to the one 500gb? i don know much about raid, so that might be a completely stupid thing to say. im also not really sure about the mobo, so any help with that would be great too. id like to keep the total under 2100 for the whole thing. i plan on ordering pretty much right when the gts rev 2 is released... unless there is a good reason to wait.
__________________

dude22 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: New Build

I would go with the Cooler Master 690 but thats me.

Nice mobo choice P5E is a nice board .

but X48 is coming out soon but its your choice :P

For your heatsink change to the TT-120Extreme. It will perform better than the Tuniq Tower.


Monitor

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 226BW Black 22" 2 ms (GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 700:1(DC 3000:1) - Retail
__________________

__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build

It would be more beneficial to run a RAID setup.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Build

after looking around i think that the p35 chipset would be better bang for my buck. im still thinking about which one to get though.
dude22 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude22 View Post
after looking around i think that the p35 chipset would be better bang for my buck. im still thinking about which one to get though.
OMG deadpixel, even this guy knows bang for buck, not performance. Yes, the p35 is the best b4tb.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Build

haha alright, of those two i included in my original post (it was edited) which one would you suggest? or would suggest a different mobo completely?
dude22 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build

Its your choice, both are just as great.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: New Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
OMG deadpixel, even this guy knows bang for buck, not performance. Yes, the p35 is the best b4tb.
So are you gonna offer him the lesser of the P35 chipsets like always?
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
So are you gonna offer him the lesser of the P35 chipsets like always?
remember, benchies dont matter.

as for the mobo, its between the ip35 pro and the p35 ds3r, not the ds3l.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: New Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
remember, benchies dont matter.

as for the mobo, its between the ip35 pro and the p35 ds3r, not the ds3l.
How dont benchmarks matter? Everytime I see something about a video card I see benchmarks and people base thier decisions on that. What about CPU's? They benchmarks those..........
__________________

__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, suggestions asim8787 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-10-2007 07:13 AM
semi-final build plan (with some issues) plz giv input Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-15-2007 10:03 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
suggestions before i build levon11 System Upgrades 3 09-25-2007 08:45 AM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.