New build! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2007, 01:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: New build!

Yep thats what a 15inch LCD runs at. I played at that res for a few months with my rig when I had only 1GB of ram and my 7900GS.

I didn't mind the smaller res especially since it destroyed most games.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-27-2007, 02:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: New build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Yep thats what a 15inch LCD runs at. I played at that res for a few months with my rig when I had only 1GB of ram and my 7900GS.

I didn't mind the smaller res especially since it destroyed most games.
Ya it looks great to me so as long as im happy its fine lol.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 12:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: New build!

i go the e6320 and o/c it to like 3.2, 3.4 with the artic freezer pro7
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 04:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: New build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cdub89 View Post
Thank you very much you seem a little more knowledge than some of the other posts.

gurusan: I heard that the 8800GTS 320mb performs just as good as a 640mb on lower resolution. I do not have a great monitor i think its a 15 inch Crt made by Dell so i figured the 320mb would be perfect for my build.
This is true for 99% of the games out there...but games like Crysis will have massive amounts of textures to store in memory...however 1024x768 is quite a low resolution, but still...don't be surprised when you have to scale back the graphics significantly to make it run smoothly.

Just take a look at a more demanding current games like GRAW and Rainbow 6: Vegas....even they benefit greatly from more video memory at lower resolutions like 1024x768

If you can afford it, I highly suggest getting the 640mb GTS....and if you can afford it again...I suggest a Core 2 Duo. But in that order...the AMD is still a very capable chip in comparison and the video card will make the most difference.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New build!

amd cpu will be fine and also a 320mb gts. no need for a 640 since the extra memory would not be ultalized as much as having a bigger res. display. any 8800 series will destroy games on a 15"
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: New build!

Yep your gonna love that build as long as you like your res heh.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: New build!

I think you guys are forgetting that he wants to play Crysis....how can you so confidently say it will run fine on 320mb at 1024x768?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:48 AM   #18 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: New build!

Well the actual memory amount 320 there is no difference in FPS up until around 1600x1200 with the 640 which still isn't a lot. Since hes at 1024x968 right now I'm willing to bet that there still won't be a difference with 640 until past 1280x968, and if not for SURE there wont be a difference at 1024x968. I mean Crysis will be powerful but THAT powerful.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 01:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: New build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Well the actual memory amount 320 there is no difference in FPS up until around 1600x1200 with the 640 which still isn't a lot. Since hes at 1024x968 right now I'm willing to bet that there still won't be a difference with 640 until past 1280x968, and if not for SURE there wont be a difference at 1024x968. I mean Crysis will be powerful but THAT powerful.
This is not true....like I said before...there are texture-heavy games that DO show a significant difference between 640 and 320mb even at resolutions as low as 1024x768.

Games like Ghost recon: advanced warfighter and Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas are two such games.

So I don't know why you would claim with such confidence that a game that's not even out yet will run fine on only 320mb.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 02:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: New build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
This is not true....like I said before...there are texture-heavy games that DO show a significant difference between 640 and 320mb even at resolutions as low as 1024x768.

Games like Ghost recon: advanced warfighter and Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas are two such games.

So I don't know why you would claim with such confidence that a game that's not even out yet will run fine on only 320mb.
I run Rainbow Six at 1024x768 and all max settings on my 7600GT and pentium D, i get a steady 45 fps not real high but playable.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking my Build... Aynite New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-02-2007 05:28 PM
Intel or Amd for new gaming build? Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-26-2007 09:42 AM
A Brand New Build! Need Help Please! khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 42 05-23-2007 11:28 AM
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.