New build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2007, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default New build

I am going to be building 2 new computers for gaming. Is it a wise idea to go with the AM2 now instead of the 939? How long will it be before 939 is outties?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

you never know, but if your on the AMD trail, build a AM2 ruight now and wait for the new AMD socket for the other build.
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default

go am2 cuz am3 processors will be able to run on am2 mobos
backup287 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Will there be any difference in perfrormance between building a 939 machine and a AM2 machine? I mean as far as I know, the only real difference is that the AM2 supports DDR2 ram. What sort of performance increase wold it be between DDR and DDR2 ram also?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 05:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

I am upgrading from...

Mobo - MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum (939)
H.D. - Seagate 7200 80gb
Ram - 2 x 512 mb Corsair VS
CPU - 3000+ venice
Gpu - Evga 6600 gt
PSU - Antec truepower

I am new to AM2, Im still in socket 754 and 939 world. Is everything turning into SLI now? Can you run a SLI mobo with 1 graphics card? What ram is most supportive on the AM2 mobo's (800, 667, 533)? What video cards and chipsets are in style? I guess it would be easier just to ask - Can someone help out with a new build?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 05:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default

ddr2 is dual chanel ram and its something you'd rather have than not 939 is definately not as good as am2 becuase as i said you can have an am3 processor when they come out, just go for am2 is just plain better


Yes you can have an sli mobo without 2 video cards, 667 is best ram for am2 and the 8800 gtx is latest and greatest video card
backup287 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Can you suggest a low-mid range AMD AM2 Mobo and processor for me around a $200.00 price range give or take $50.00? I don't know what northbridge is good on the AM2's or what trusted mobo manufacturer for the Am2. I am just going to be using this machine for playing WoW and Everquest 2.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

look at my sig, great CPU and Mobo, and i can guide you through both. The Biostar TForce 550 and X2 3800+ are an awesome combo and they are around 210 total. cant beat that.
joeswm8 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 11:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default

Go for the nearest asus mobo that fits your budget, asus makes the best mobos out to date, they are number one!
__________________

backup287 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.