New Budget Computer ($1k) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 11:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

I was more concerned with the overcloackablity features of the motherboard. I already know the Core 2 Duo overclocks well. Will my Ram be up to par for good overclocking?
__________________

__________________
Please visit my new Photography forum: http://www.f8forum.com
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Sadly enough I do not overclock so I do not have any info for the overclock part for you, but I must admit the C6300 is a VERY nice chip for the price, I do not have it myself but I am going to be in the process of selling myh current machine to some kids I know in high school at the moment then purchase a 6300 or 6400 with a decent Mobo and probably a 7900GT.

Basically, if you can handle it I would go with the Conroe, will be in use long after the X2 dies out.

P.S. I went from a 2001 HP computer I purchased which came with a Geforce 4 which I upgraded to a Geforce 5200 my brother gave me to my current rig, Man, no telling what two generations of video cards do for you lol.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Sadly enough I do not overclock so I do not have any info for the overclock part for you, but I must admit the C6300 is a VERY nice chip for the price, I do not have it myself but I am going to be in the process of selling myh current machine to some kids I know in high school at the moment then purchase a 6300 or 6400 with a decent Mobo and probably a 7900GT.

Basically, if you can handle it I would go with the Conroe, will be in use long after the X2 dies out.

P.S. I went from a 2001 HP computer I purchased which came with a Geforce 4 which I upgraded to a Geforce 5200 my brother gave me to my current rig, Man, no telling what two generations of video cards do for you lol.
why don't you overclock?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Prehaps Im blind or scanned too quickly, But I didn't see a PSU Listed or any Fans or anything cooling related listed.

How many fans come with that case?

Remember, The Power supply and cooling system are the two most important items to consider when Building a computer.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

Antec PSU 480w 2.0
The case comes with 1 120mm and 1 80mm.
__________________
Please visit my new Photography forum: http://www.f8forum.com
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

maybe he already has all of that covered, and just wanted advice on the main components?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
maybe he already has all of that covered, and just wanted advice on the main components?
Prehaps so, never hurts to ask.
Double checking is always a good idea.

Anyways you might want to get one or two more fans.
(If the case has open slots)
Ste is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

why dont your lower some of those parts and get a 7900gt or gtx. like get 1 gb of ram and get a lower motherboard. can u post the prices of thoses parts plz. you will be able to run games better with a 7900gt then a 7600gt. the only game that uses 2gb of ram is bf2.
efd753 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

He wants to do photo editing and 3d rendering so 2gb would help alot. The only game he listed was WOW and that will easily run at max with a 7600gt.
He could update to a dx10 card later if he wants more gaming power.
dario03 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 02:21 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

I do intend to upgrade my gpu to dx10 when it becomes available. Reconsidering my build, I think I will go with the e6600 and the mobo mentioned above, if it will handle overclocking well. That way my cpu/mobo/ram will be of great quality, and my gpu can hold me over until next summer, when dx10 cards aren't costing me a small fortune. I don't want to drop to much money on a card that I will only use for about 6-8 months at most.
__________________

__________________
Please visit my new Photography forum: http://www.f8forum.com
uthscsa19 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.