New Budget Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 11:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default New Budget Build

My cousin wants to build a comp so i picked out some parts for him just wanted to get some opinions. $800 budget. He has a DVD burner, Mouse, keyboard, moniter.

Parts we're lookin at:
X2 3800+ AM2
G.Skill DDR2 800 1GB
ESC Radeon Xpress 3200 mobo
X1900XT
Seagate 80GB SATA II
Antec Truepower 550W

Links:
CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735
Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135024
RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231088
Graphics: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102025
HD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107
PSU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

Reason's for wut u guys might think is madness. First off RAM, he will be gettin another 1GB later, its just not in the budget and he wants a dual-core w/ a powerful graphics card. No case yet, he will just use his desk for now till he can save money for a case. Conroe is not in the budget, mobos are too expensive and lowest cpu so far is $180 if that. Also, do not flame on ATI for their drivers, i have a X1900XT and i have no problems wut so ever. The X1900s have just decreased in price due to the upcomin X1950XTX. Suggestions would be nice.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

looks like a great build.


the RAM i'm assuming he's gonna upgrade within a month or 2, right? if its longer than that, i recommend doing something differently...
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

You sure you want to go the am2 route?

there isnt a notable difference in performance, and both mobo's and ram are cheaper for 939.

I would go more along this route
HDD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152020
RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220079
MOBO:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188003
PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151024
CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562
GFX:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130033

Totals around 900 with 2gigs ram
Or you can go with 1 gig for about 800
And at 800 you can throw in a case.
As your total is around 850


Feel free to flame me in any manner you choose.

But hey, I use the mobo there and its great, you cant go wrong with x2, and from what ive experienced with my 7800gt its a great perfromer. I also have the psu and i gotta say, its an excellent and super stable little bugger.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aspire.comptech
Feel free to flame me in any manner you choose.

**** ****** ***s **** ******s m******** *****ed







.. but serously, if price is close, stick with socket am2, as aspire said, performance is very close, but so is price.. and there is chance of upgradeability in the future... AM3 sockets might be compatible with AM2...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

to aliasaid, he'll probably upgrade the RAM 2-3 months after he builds his system. AM3 CPUs are backward combatable with sAM2 but AM2 CPUs are not combatable with sAM3, last i heard

to aspire.comptech, i'm not really the flamin type in less ppl flame on ATI when they've never expeirenced them. i will give s939 a look, since he is my cousin, and i have an extra stick of this laying around: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231046 he could buy that and i could set him up with mine till he can afford another stick. I will look at a different mobo for s939 though, probalby DFI if i can fit it in the budget. And Nvidia gfx cards are out of the question, sry. s939 and AM2 are roughly the same price when it comes to mobos and RAM. The DDR RAM i have in the link above, i bought it for $85 on newegg around last christmas.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Hmmm, interesting, i see your an AMD (ati) fanboy and im a nvidia fanboy :P

ANyways, im hapy with the performance i get and im sure your cousin will enjoy his computer no matte rhow you decide to go.

The only bif i have with AMD (ATi) is the excessive amount of noise theyre coolers make.

Aside from that i fully support them. They are canadian too which helps with the whole acceptance thing :P

Anyways, i keep reffering to them as AMD seeing as there is extensive talk about AMD completely dropping the ATi name and making everything AMD which would be cool I guess...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

AMD droppin the ATI name ****in p1sses me off. Although i like AMD more than intel, them droppin the ATI name is just stupid. I think they'll loose alot of support.

About hte coolers, thats y i got a VF900 . Cant hear it and its on 100% all the time. ATI has a new design for their X1950XTX which is suppose to be quieter and they also announced they will have another design for R600.

I think i'm just goin to stick with AM2, my cousin doesnt kno too much about comps, and hes one of those ppl who think "higher = better" which i had to help him with for timings (CAS 4 beats CAS 5, etc.) and the whole Pentium(NOT CONROE) Vs. Althon thing.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Scratch that, seems it was just a rumor

AMD will not be dropping the ATi or Radeon brand names
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

where'd u hear that from? I heard from XS which had an article from Xbit-labs or something like that.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Interesting... Im finding comflicting information here

http://www.amdzone.com/modules.php?o...ticle&sid=6107

i caqnt find my previous source but it also quoted an amd official and said they were going to keep both the ati and product names.

At this point, who knows...
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.