New AMD sockets? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2006, 07:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Snake91839's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default New AMD sockets?

I was recently looking into building a new computer on newegg for gaming, and I noticed that AMD now has a socket F. I've been looking at building on either a Socket 939 or AM2. But now i'm not sure what to go with. I want something that I upgrade in the future, without having to buy all new parts.

Thanks for any help

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

Go for AM2, because socket F is for AMD's server line and opterons.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 08:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

AMD is moving to DDR3 next year and the FPU will be twice the speed.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Snake91839's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471

but if it's going to be faster, than should I go with that socket for expansion?
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

no socket F is not for gaming purposes. It is for SERVERS

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 11:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead

get a socket AM2, later when AM3 comes out, this December/January, you can use the AM3 chip on AM2 boards until you can save enough money for an AM3 board and DDR3 RAM.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 01:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7

Socket F is for Servers, not gaming at all

trocker767 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.