New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2008, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

Hey guys, hopefully you can help me out a bit.

I have an ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo which has a AM2 socket.

I have read that the new AMD Phenom 9850 will work on an AM2 or an AM2+ socket mobo, but I am worried about the power requirements of the processor. It requires 125 watts, and I don't want to fry my mobo trying to get it to run the Quad core. I am currently running a dual core 4600+ overclocked from 2.4 GHz to 2.75 GHz. It runs extremely stable (I could probably OC it more, but I don't want to mess with the voltages too much. And I really like this Mobo, so as i am sure it would just be best to get a new mobo, i really want to try and get this one to run the phenom.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

It doesn't show up under the CPU support list of that motherboard yet:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

Maybe because it was just released. It should work after they release a new BIOS for the M2N-SLI.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

Some of the K8 processors were 120W (including earlier 6000+ models)

Not to mention, many boards allow you to put a higher amount of voltage (therefore power) through the CPU, for overclocking.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

Voltage seems fine, I am just worried about the Amperage. Watts is Volts times amps, and while i might be able to get the right voltage needed to power this thinkg, my mobo may not be able to push the required amount of amps. I read this from newegg.

"Requires a multi-phase PWM mobo

Reviewed By: Wingless on 4/6/2008
Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Tech Level: somewhat high - Ownership: less than 1 day

Pros: Fastest AMD available, good price, and overclocks to 3Ghz on air/3.5 on water according to Xtremesystems.org.

Cons: 125watt TDP requires motherboards with 5 or more power phases (count the MOSFETS around the CPU socket to tell). If you put this CPU, or any 125watt TDP CPU, in any motherboard that had not been specifically qualified with high TDP CPUs like the X2 6400+ or Phenoms, it may blow the motherboard. This isn't the Phenom's fault. Its the motherboard manufacturers fault for cutting corners.

Other Thoughts: Pair this CPU with a worthy motherboard like a DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R that has a digital 6-phase PWM system (no caps, no MOSFETS). You pay a little extra but you also get absolute premium features and excellent overclockability."
__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

the M2N SLI deluxe has an 8 phase power design. That's more than enough for Phenom's to work properly.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

Ah, the love between a man and his mobo. Its refreshing really.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmaddogfreak View Post
Voltage seems fine, I am just worried about the Amperage. Watts is Volts times amps, and while i might be able to get the right voltage needed to power this thinkg, my mobo may not be able to push the required amount of amps. I read this from newegg.

"Requires a multi-phase PWM mobo

Reviewed By: Wingless on 4/6/2008
Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Tech Level: somewhat high - Ownership: less than 1 day

Pros: Fastest AMD available, good price, and overclocks to 3Ghz on air/3.5 on water according to Xtremesystems.org.

Cons: 125watt TDP requires motherboards with 5 or more power phases (count the MOSFETS around the CPU socket to tell). If you put this CPU, or any 125watt TDP CPU, in any motherboard that had not been specifically qualified with high TDP CPUs like the X2 6400+ or Phenoms, it may blow the motherboard. This isn't the Phenom's fault. Its the motherboard manufacturers fault for cutting corners.

Other Thoughts: Pair this CPU with a worthy motherboard like a DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R that has a digital 6-phase PWM system (no caps, no MOSFETS). You pay a little extra but you also get absolute premium features and excellent overclockability."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
the M2N SLI deluxe has an 8 phase power design. That's more than enough for Phenom's to work properly.
how can i tell how many phases mine has? Me n u Apok have the same exact mobo.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

Yea, i too am curious as to how did you find out how many phases my mobo has. And thank you Dakaggo, i <3 my mobo. It's definitely been very very good to me. When i bought this about a year ago, I knew it would be very expandable, but I never expected it to support such a powerful and power hungry processor. My current system specs are below, but other than the graphics card, processor and mobo, everything else has been upgraded, and there is soo much more I can do to this. Thanks guys for the help.

I read that the 9850 black edition can get up to 3.5 GHz on liquid cooling (which I have) which should be comperable to what...? a 1300? SAWWWEETT! lol now all i need are some 8800 GTXs and I am alll set till next month. LOL
__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 01:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
how can i tell how many phases mine has? Me n u Apok have the same exact mobo.
Google, or count the MOSFET's

Yeah, I have a K9A2 Platinum motherboard.
I think it uses 9 MOSFET's. though I'm at uni right now.

Though AM2+ has independent power phases for the memory controller, and the core.

I also have a foxconn C51XEM2AA (Nforce 590 SLI). It's a really good motherboard. It just doesn't support crossfire, or HTT 3.0.

A lot of people with 9850's have been hitting 3GHZ with air, and with little or no voltage increase.

3.5GHZ was done using about 1.5V or so (stock is 1.3V)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 12:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: New AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition

My mobo can hit 1.5V no problem. I can't wait till i get some money in, so i can get this bad boy and put it to work.
__________________

__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW Phenom Black Edition at newegg. BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL New Systems | Building and Buying 32 01-14-2008 07:22 AM
Phenom Black Edition Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 30 12-24-2007 02:41 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD comes out with x2 6400+ non Black Edition BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-06-2007 04:30 AM
AMD Athlon X2 5000+ Black Edition: Unlocked Multiplier for less than $150!! veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-22-2007 07:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.