New AMD FX-6300 build. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2016, 10:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
GhostTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: united states
Posts: 5
Question New AMD FX-6300 build.

So i'm building a new semi-budget computer and id like some input on my parts. (below)

CPU: AMD FX-6300 (6-core)
CPU Cooler: CoolerMaster Hyper T12 EVO
MotherBored: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P
GPU: EVGA GTX 760TI (reusing it from my last build) i may also buy a MSI Radeon R7 370 4GB but im not sure yet.
HDD: Western Digital Blue 1TB (reusing from my last build)
RAM: 2 sticks of Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Power Supply: EVGA 100-W1-500-KR 500W
Case: ZALMAN ZM-Z9 NEO (i like the look and features so it probably wont change)
SSD: i might get one if i need it later.
__________________

GhostTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New AMD FX-6300 build.

Is this for gaming? You'd be better off getting a Skylake i3 build.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
GhostTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: united states
Posts: 5
Default Re: New AMD FX-6300 build.

it is for gaming but also for video work so i need the extra cores. my budget also wont allow for a i3. thanks for the input though.
GhostTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New AMD FX-6300 build.

Skylake i3 build would cost you the same when getting a new FX 6300 and that board you mentioned. DDR4 same amount would also cost the same. The Skylake i3 would also be quicker for video work when paired with an Nvidia GPU. Also, you need an SSD.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
budget build, budget pc, computer parts

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanting to OC my 6300...Do I need additional cooling? King$nake Overclocking and Modding 6 01-30-2007 10:04 PM
Lexmark 6300 cartrige error silence782 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-19-2006 06:17 PM
port forwarding SpeedStream 6300 2ner Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 11-15-2006 01:37 PM
6300 oc El_Roberto Overclocking and Modding 7 10-07-2006 03:40 PM
C2D 6300, or X2 3800+ ? magouster New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-27-2006 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.