New 760 from Gigabyte, is it worth it?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2013, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Pegasus88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 26
Default New 760 from Gigabyte, is it worth it??

so I saw on the interwebs today that Gigabyte released this: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 760 OC 1150MHZ 4GB 6.0GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Video Card, I was wondering (because Im about to drop some dough on a build) if the extra 2 gb of memory is worth the extra 60-70$$ also because I'm a FNG at this what impacts performance the most in a GPU? is it the clock? Memory? or CUDAs?

P.S. not sure if this was the right location for posting but i figured it would get read here
__________________

Pegasus88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: New 760 from Gigabyte, is it worth it??

the 760 is a solid card, there are some upgrades over the 660ti its replacing. for example a better fan curve, its quieter and doesnt ramp up and down constantly, also it has GPU boost 3.0 which would basically let you tell the card " as long as you stay under X temperature, overclock your self as high as you want ". but as for real world performance difference over the 660ti, there is about a 5-10% increase in performance. However, the 4gigs of ram is " too big for this cards britches ". the only way you will be able to use all of the 4 gigs is if you are gaming in above 1080p resolution, in which case, you need to invest in a card that has more GPU processing horsepower, like a 780+. the 760 is an awesome card for 1080p gaming. If thats the resolution you are going to run at, get a 2gig card and call it a day!

take a look at this video, it will really help you understand what makes a good card:



hope that helped!
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: New 760 from Gigabyte, is it worth it??

Nah, the 760 has sufficient power for 4GB of VRAM. Those sayings are for the low end models like GT640 with 4GB or something like that. Games like modded Skyrim can take up to 4GB of VRAM but a single 760 is powerful enough to push it. Other games like Crysis 3 have VRAM leakage real bad when AA is used. Newer gen games will take advantage of the 4GB and in higher end cards it's better to go for it.

To the OP, if you don't have a decent card currently, getting a 760 whether it's 2GB or 4GB will be a very nice upgrade.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: New 760 from Gigabyte, is it worth it??

2 GB of memory is not worth $60 or $75 bucks. Save your money. The increase in performance will hardly be noticeable. hope this helps. for example, lets say you have 6Gb memory. Two more will not help much unless you are planning to really stretch the memory you now have.
w7rzw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: New 760 from Gigabyte, is it worth it??

Quote:
Originally Posted by w7rzw View Post
2 GB of memory is not worth $60 or $75 bucks. Save your money. The increase in performance will hardly be noticeable. hope this helps. for example, lets say you have 6Gb memory. Two more will not help much unless you are planning to really stretch the memory you now have.
It appears that what you're saying has nothing to do entirely with the OPs question.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.