New ($3k) gaming pc. M2 drive worth it?

An AIO has same if not less upkeep than an air cooler. Price isn't much different either.

No BS 240 rad cheaper than competitive air (Noctua DH15).
https://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-...=1529117097&sr=1-2&keywords=thermaltake+water

Don't those require a water supply for it to cycle through? Most I've seen include a large clear cylinder that it draws water from/too, which you then have to change out every few months. Sorry, I'm completely new to liquid cooling but you make it seem really easy for even a beginner :D

I pictured something like this:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIAC8W5SB2261

What you linked is a custom loop, an EK one of which I referred to (although the one you linked is still aluminum and thus not really worth the hassle). The units I linked are self contained and sealed. You do not fill or drain those.

Although with the rad portion of a custom loop the same applies as what I said. The only difference being you should drain your loop and refill with fresh water about once every 6 months.

I should also mention that we call those self contained water loops "AIOs" which is short for all-in-one.

Last edited:
Ahh got ya! I went ahead and got the all-in-one unit (my case has the proper mount for it) so I'll try it out. Thanks again so much for both of you all your recommendations and info!!

Just curious, what are your current specs?

Currently have:

CPU: i7 920 2.66GHZ (aftermarket Noctua cooler)
GPU: Nvidia GTX 670 (4gb)
OS SSD: OCZ Agility 120 GB (Win 7)
Storage: 6tb Seagate HDD
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
RAM: DDR-3 32gb
Power: Corsair 850W

It's a good system that's gotten me through a lot over the last 9 years. I run it with triple screens at 5760x1080 resolution. Originally I had a Radeon HD card but it kept giving me grief with the drivers so I changed to NVidia a few years ago and never looked back.