Needed: Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2007, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default Needed: Video Card

Ok, i just had a Radeon 9800 die out on me and currently have a crappy one to keep me going but i want a better one than i havd before that is ok with my current system which is:

Operating system: Windows XP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 1800 + @ 1.49 GHz
Motherboard: ASUS A7N8X-X
RAM/Memory: 1024MB DDR Crucial RAM

Any help will be appreciated!!
__________________

karlgr is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Keep the crappy one, get a new CPU, that one's just going to hold back most of the new video cards.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

is that agp?

if so i think a 7600gs should do you well
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by __Camouflage__
Keep the crappy one, get a new CPU, that one's just going to hold back most of the new video cards.
When i say crappy i mean crappy lol, like 32mb on the graphics card lol.
karlgr is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by karlgr
When i say crappy i mean crappy lol, like 32mb on the graphics card lol.

lol now thats crappy, how much cash you got?whats your budget?
backup287 is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 02:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

I don't really know to be honest, apparently from above, camoflage says my processor will hold me back so does that mean i wont beable to get a top notch one? Probably below Ā£100 though...
karlgr is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 11:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=479171

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=466649

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=530761

Any of these looks anygood? Which would give me the best performance etc etc...
karlgr is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 11:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Needed: Video Card

Quote:
Originally posted by karlgr
Ok, i just had a Radeon 9800 die out on me and currently have a crappy one to keep me going but i want a better one than i havd before that is ok with my current system which is:

Operating system: Windows XP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 1800 + @ 1.49 GHz
Motherboard: ASUS A7N8X-X
RAM/Memory: 1024MB DDR Crucial RAM

Any help will be appreciated!!
That CPU is supposed to run at 1,533 GHz by default. Check your BIOS settings.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 11:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

none of those are working...

7600gs is around 150ish last time I checked or for less money the X1650 Pro..do you really need a new video card?

btw I used to have that proc and mine ran at around that speed on a gigabyte board..later I realised there was a switch on the mobo that changed the fsb.
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

^^ you mean this : http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=489477 ???

hopefully these links should work:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=479171
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=530761
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=457256

I don't have a clue to be honest lol...
__________________

karlgr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.