Is it needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2012, 06:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Hayden13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to Hayden13
Default Is it needed?

I have just recently purchased a new computer from Cyberpowerpc and it's primarily for gaming. My friend (who helped me with the build and knows much about computers) told me not to immediately use the computer to its full potential as soon as I got it out of the box. He told me to "warm it up" "let it get used to being on". I believed him and I still do (to an extent). I then preceded to ask him questions like, can I play GTA IV on minimum settings? (which it can do with NO problem). He told me no and that the first WEEK that I have it I should only watch YouTube videos, talk to people on Skype, only do non-demanding tasks. This is when I became a little skeptical and did some research on the internet. I've searched everywhere and NO ONE is saying this. So I ask you fine folks here at Tech-Forums... Do I need to "break it in" or should I play GTA IV? On lowest settings of course for a couple of days and then slowly work my way up to its highest and full potential.

P.S. In case you were wondering my Graphics card is an NVIDIA GTX 560Ti 2gb, and my CPU is a 3.6 GHz AMD Eight-core 8mb cache... So it can pretty much Man-handle any game you throw at it, let alone GTA IV.
__________________

Hayden13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Is it needed?

Um... no. You don't have to "break in" a computer for use... You can turn it on and immediately begin using it however you want... I don't know what your friend is thinking or heard that...but totally untrue.

Go ahead and load up whatever games / apps you want and start using them.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Hayden13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to Hayden13
Default Re: Is it needed?

I do trust his judgment, because he does know much more about computers than me. He did however call this "common knowledge", so I thought I'd ask a group of computer "freaks". I still believe him and anything else he tells me, he's not an idiot if that's what you're thinking and I plan to have him help me a lot in the future. Thank you for your answer carnage, and I rep'd you. I don't think that I need to really come here much more for help, my friends can help me a lot. Although I may come back in the future to spread my soon-to-be acquired knowledge about computers and gaming. Thank you again.
Hayden13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Is it needed?

No problem.

Lol if it was common knowledge, you'd still be able to find a mention of it somewhere .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Is it needed?

Common knowledge things are generally all over the internet. Idk what your friend is smoking, but I wouldn't listen to him anymore before posting here.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Is it needed?

only true if your computer has a carburetor. they tend to be cold blooded.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 04:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Is it needed?

Perhaps he was talking about old thermal pastes that requires a burn-in period before they get to their full effectiveness? Either way he's completely daft in that regard :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 11:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Is it needed?

I would like to point just one little thing out from the past that is probably still true to this day. If you plan on trying to do an overclock, and keep it stable, don't do it all at once. In theory if you let the CPU it self, not the paste, break in slowly at slightly higher than stock clocks, you could potentially have a slightly higher stable overclock. But that is impossible to prove honestly, as every core is different and behaves differently. But it sure did seem to help 10 or so years ago. This is possibly where he got the idea to "break in" a pc. Except that's not needed, it's not like a brand new engine that require a proper break in procedure.

So for the most part, your friend is full of ****, sorry.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 11:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Is it needed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Perhaps he was talking about old thermal pastes that requires a burn-in period before they get to their full effectiveness? Either way he's completely daft in that regard :P
AS5 still has that rumored break in period. Thing is, it is just for OCing if you want that extra 2C. Doesn't mean you can't play games at full quality lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 01:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Is it needed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
AS5 still has that rumored break in period. Thing is, it is just for OCing if you want that extra 2C. Doesn't mean you can't play games at full quality lol.
Or you can just use MX or TX for better temps right away .
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming PC & Media Centre. £400 Budget. No OS Needed. No peripherals needed. TheFuzzyFool System Upgrades 1 01-14-2011 01:24 PM
help needed. optimus911 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 12-29-2004 04:45 PM
Help Needed GokuGouki HijackThis Logs (finished) 5 12-25-2004 01:41 AM
Serious help needed! Circle Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-23-2004 03:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.