Need a sweet desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2005, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default Need a sweet desktop

Hi all,

I've been perusing this forum for a few weeks now and finally got up the courage to register and publicly display my technological newbness.

Here's the deal: my old PIII Thinkpad is on its last legs. Over the last four years or so, I added more RAM to it, popped on an external hard drive, upgraded the CD-ROM drive to play DVDs, but times are changing too quickly and it's time to retire the ol' workhorse.

I'd like to use a new computer for three things primarily:

1) Basic Internet browsing, word processing, etc.
2) Audio recording. I don't know if anyone here is into that, but I have Digidesign's Mbox that I just bought, and my old laptop just doesn't have enough space to handle all the bundled software that came with it.
3) Gaming! I used to play computer games, then I got into console stuff, but I'm kind of itching to pick up Guild Wars and WoW, and I'm eagerly awaiting a few other games that are slated to come out by the end of the year.

So hopefully this is where you all come in. My budget has to be $1500 or less. I've never built a CPU before, and I do live about a half an hour from Monarch Computer, which I've heard good things about. What components should I be looking at to put together (either by myself, or perhaps with the help of the good folks at Monarch) in order to have a system that will play some good games, handle audio recording, and be expandable enough to where it's not completely obsolete in a few years? Is that even possible for $1500 or less?

Thanks in advance for your help!
__________________

Octaver is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Well, if you're going to be playing games like BF2 and F.E.A.R, then you'll prolly want an SLI mobo, like the DFI Lanparty. Nothing less than a 6600GT. 6800 Ultras are nice, and you can get two of them in SLI, which would be even better. Prolly want at least 1 GB of ram. An AMD proc of course for games. I would go with the X2, 939 chip. Forget the name of the chip, but it's not the same name is the one given to the 3800. It's the 4200 I believe. Hope that helps.

EDIT

The cpu I was talking about is the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Toledo.
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 67
Default

I can help you with your new computer. 1500 is enough for what you want to do. e-mail me at Patrick.Kuca@comcast.net and I can get you this computer.
PatrickK is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

yo just custom build it if you can. That pc PatrikK is selling it outdated in some ways. And really isnt worth more than 500, 600 bucks really. For $1500, you could make a computer that makes that computer look like your old p3
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

If you feel comfortable building it yourself then just figure out what parts you want and Newegg 'em. Otherwise Monarch or Ibuypower.com.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 06:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for everyone's comments so far. I guess what I'm asking is, for those three main things I listed (internet, games, audio), are there any specific components or combination of components that are better suited for my needs than others? Are AMD processors generally better for audio recording than Pentium? I don't think I'll quite get into absolute cutting edge gaming stuff, so SLI's extra cost doesn't quite appeal to me right now.
Octaver is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Not sure if Intel's chips are better for audio recording or not. Something wants to make me think they are, I think Intel does better with this like video editing/databases/prolly audio recording. Get a nice P4 EE cpu w/ a DFI mobo, I think they support Intel...
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

gaming go with amd

audio recording go with intel

multi tasking(EDIT: extreme) go with amd
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 09:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Audio? Get a sound card, no matter what CPU you get.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 06:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

look for these things:

Athlon 64 3500+ or X2 3800+ - the 3500+ would be better for gaming, the X2 would be better for everything else, and eventually would be better for gaming once multi threaded games are released.

1gb in dual channel config - this is plenty unless you really are into high end video and image editing.

2x 120 or 160gb SATA HDD's in RAID - Heaps of space, and as fast as a 10,000RPM drive.

6600GT or 6800GT whichever you feel is better suited for you.

SLI mobo, so you can add one GPU now and one GPU later.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.