Need some upgrade help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2010, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Need some upgrade help

Hello, my first post on the forum. i do not really know if my PC is a High performance computer, but it runs pretty much everything.
I'm from Norway, so i'm sorry if my english isn't perfect.

My current setup:
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Black Big Tower
- Corsair Powersupply 750W Black, ATX/EPS,
- MSI P45 NEO-F, P45, Socket-775, DDR2,
- Intel Core2 Duo E8600 3,33GHz
- NorthQ 3580 Water Cooling Kit
- Corsair TWIN2X PC6400 DDR2 4GB KIT CL5
- XFX GeForce GTX 275 640M 896MB PhysX
- Samsung SpinPoint MF1 160GB 7200RPM (Operativ System disc atm, got 2x 1TB discs mounted as well.)

If my monitors is interesting as well, i dualscreen a 24" BenQ FullHD LCD and a 24" BenQ FullHD LED. Im editing alot of pictures, im a part time photographer, so i need a good computer.

After i bought the PC listed above, i've changed the 240mm fan in the side with 4 120mm Zalman fans with a Zalman Fan controller (capable to controll 6 fans)

I've gotten alot of bluescreens after this upgrade, and i asume its the PSU that is to small. Im therefor upgrading to;
- Corsair HX 1000W PSU

I also want a ASUS Rampage Extreme, X48, Socket-775 mainboard, and DDR 1600Mhz RAM, but im not sure that it will work properly together. I'm sure you guys have alot more experience about this than i do, so please help me...

Btw, im gonna upgrade to i7 920 and SLI GTX 285 or something later.
__________________

incoming is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need some upgrade help

Anybody?
__________________

incoming is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Need some upgrade help

i wouldnt put anymore money in another lga775 mobo, just save it and put it towards an i5/i7 build.

you started getting bsods after you upgraded the fans? i doubt the psu is the problem; a corsair 750w should handle your rig with no problems and upgrading to a 1kw hx psu is just overkill.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need some upgrade help

Your Corsair 750 watt PS is more than enough power for your system.

What are the error codes your getting with the BSOD?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 04:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need some upgrade help

Thats the funny thing... A error code doesn't come up, just bluescreen and power off...
the 1kw PSU will be used in the i7 computer too, upgrading bit for bit

EDIT: I usually get BSOD when i run Lightroom 2.6, Photoshop CS4 and (sometimes) Premier Pro CS4..
incoming is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 09:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Need some upgrade help

just shooting some ideas

hard drive scan for bad sectors
running memtest to check for faulty memory
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Need some upgrade help

PSU is certainly powerful enough. Could be faulty but you should check other things first (start with what Fat.Clown suggested).
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 11:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need some upgrade help

Ran mem test last week, and there were no faults with the RAM..
I'll try scanning the HDD's for bad sectors etc. Gonna Wipe all my discs and reinstall everything next weekend too.
__________________

incoming is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 upgrade problem Druid Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-08-2009 11:46 AM
can i install windows from a copied cd onto a licenced pc? raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-23-2009 03:08 PM
Having major OS Dilemma & free upgrade win7 coupon rocknje Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-18-2009 02:27 PM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.