Need some input on Gfx card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2010, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Need some input on Gfx card

Ok so i have 8gb of ram, quad core q8200, 640gb harddrive, with a nvidia geforce gt120. I hear this video card is weak and im looking to add another, any reccomendations on what goes good with this card? looking to spend around 150, or more if necessary. I would really like to be able to run Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2 on the highest settings, dont know if that helps seeing as how neither are out yet but whatever. Thanks for the help!
__________________

BigJEffrey20 is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

My guess is they're probably going to require something along the lines of a GTX 285 or HD 4890 or similar, which are almost three times your budget.
__________________

__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

would those be compatible with my current video card or do you think i would be better off just totally replacing it?
BigJEffrey20 is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

Is your motherboard an SLi board, or is that GPU built in? If it's an SLi board, the two cards have to the exact same (GTX 285 - GTX 285), unless you're using the weaker card for a PhysX card (I don't know very much about this, you'll have to ask someone else)

If it's not an SLi board, you cannot use two cards together.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

not really sure if its an SLi board or not, but replacing it seems like the easier thing to do, im not all that computer savvy. Thanks for the clarification.
BigJEffrey20 is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

If you're going to be upgrading to a higher end card, you'd also want to make sure your PSU is up to snuff, as well. 650W would support most single cards out there right now.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

i didnt know that, thanks again for your knowledge.
BigJEffrey20 is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

Not a problem, it's what we're here for
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Need some input on Gfx card

For under $150, there's the 5770
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR AX5770 512MD5-H Radeon HD 5770 512MB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 CrossFireX Support Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

It's fast, supports DirectX 11, and doesn't use much power.

You could probably use your current card for PhysX if your board has another PCI-E 16X slot, though you might need to use older drivers (Nvidia's newer drivers disable PhysX if an ATI card is the primary card)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Best GFX Card for my PSU cwiz System Upgrades 10 02-18-2009 10:41 AM
Eye-Fi Wireless SD Memory Card Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 02-07-2008 08:22 AM
pci gfx card question stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-28-2008 12:55 PM
My Laptop GFX card Peter.Cort Laptops and Notebooks 1 10-20-2007 11:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.