Need some help with SLI upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2009, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Default Need some help with SLI upgrade

Hey everyone, you all helped me build a great computer a few months ago but I have a few issues.

1) The mobo that was sent was broke and the ethernet port was not working/quit working, want a upgrade.
2) The game that I play still does not run 100% all of the time, when I start having a lot going on in the game I start to lose graphics and they just do not show up.
3) About to buy a 2nd monitor and run 2.

I am wanting to buy another graphics card as well as a new/better mobo

My current build:

-EVGA GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

-OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage

-GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard (kind of want a new EVGA mobo)

-CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 (will upgrade if needed)

- Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core

I want to upgrade/replace:
Mobo
Power supply(if needed)

And what other graphics card should I get

Oh My current monitor is:

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG TOC T240 Rose Black 24" 5ms HDMI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 DC 20000:1(1000:1) - LCD Monitors
New monitor will most likely be the same one or very close to it.

Thanks!!

P.S. I have been reading on here that new products should be coming out soon so if I need to wait a few months I will but, would like to get the mobo fixed kind of soon.
__________________

skitzo385 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

Have you considered an RMA on the board?
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

No I did not try to return it for new if that is what that means.

If I can get better then I might as well do that since I would have to move everything to a new board anyways. If my board sounds good to everyone though I will try to do that and see what comes of it. I just do not want to have to send it off and wait for a new one to come, having no computer in the 2-6 week process. :/
skitzo385 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

If you can RMA it, it would save you $250+. While it's in the process it will pass the time till the newer GPUs come out
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

Ok well that is first option.
skitzo385 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

Yea, if your board is bad there's no sense buying a new one. Just get an RMA from the manufacturer and you will get a replacement.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 05:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

Ok, well I guess I will do that for now. I still need some ideas on my sli though. The board issues do not bug me as much as my game not working properly with so much $ into my rig.

I would want a new board or replacement board because when I did the sli I would lack the room for a second card because of >>> ethernet card.
skitzo385 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 06:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

What game is it, and what resolution/settings are you playing it at?
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 06:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

Or you can buy the new board and sell the replacement board when it comes in. But you should test it before you sell it.

Video card, get another one just like it if possible. Thou it doesn't have to be from the same manufacturer or have the same speeds. I have a standard GTX 280 and a Overclocked GTX 280 in SLI, just make sure it's a GTX 285 1GB card.

This will work
Newegg.com - BFG Tech BFGEGTX2851024OCBE GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Or this EVGA, it's been recertified and discounted if your brave
Newegg.com - Recertified: EVGA 01G-P3-1281-RX GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

I would get the Corsair 750 watt power supply
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

or the 850 watt if you have an extra $20
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 09:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Default Re: Need some help with SLI upgrade

Untitled Page

res is:
1024 x 768 and 24 bit

any larger res and it makes everything WAY to small for me. but I only have problems when there is A LOT going on. Everyday play is perfect.
__________________

skitzo385 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia SLI for P55 philbar71 New Technology and Products 2 08-13-2009 06:47 PM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
9800 GTX vs. SLI vs. 3-way SLI. vs. Quad SLI veg1992 New Technology and Products 2 05-31-2008 10:59 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.