Need some advice on a GPU card??? AMD 6970 or Nivida GTX 570 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

mordenk

Solid State Member
First I would like to say that I am not a total newbie...but I have not built a rig in a few years.....so here goes my question.....

I am building a rig for everyday use but it is starting to turn out to be more of a performance build.

I have bought everything for the rig except for the GPU. i am stuck between the Power color 2GB DDR5 (dual fan, factory OC) AMD 6970 or the GTX 570??? There both are ruffly the same price and my budget is $400 CND for a video Card.

My rig is as follows (So far);

Asrock 890FX deluxe5 motherboard
16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance OC memory DDR3
Phenom II 1100T Black Edition Six Core Processor - 3.30GHz
LG 12X Blu-ray burner
60 GB WD SSD
2TB Western Digital Caviar Black WD2002FAEX 2TB
Coolmax 1000W power supply (both SLI and Crossfire Ready)

The motherboard supports:
Supports ATIâ„¢ Quad CrossFireXâ„¢ , 3-Way CrossFireXâ„¢ and CrossFireXâ„¢
This is why I am leaning towards the 6970.

Any suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated!

Sorry if this makes your decision even harder, but AMD boards can be made to SLi.
the sli [patch] is a software thing

all you need on your hardware is 2x pci-e x16 lanes that has room

amd boards do not come with sli bridges anymore you will have to get one youself and make sure its the proper length

Quote from Overclock.net forum.

This in deed makes the decision harder...lol...thanks for the information....I appreciate it.

Search about unlocking the 2GB 6950 cards to 6970s. A lot of the 2GB versions of the 6950 can be unlocked to 6970's, just by flashing a new BIOS. Also, where are you shopping at? Newegg.ca is showing both the 6970 and 570 at $350CND, just not the PowerColor brand. I would choose EVGA or XFX over PowerColor any day of the week. The reason is because of the Lifetime warranties from both EVGA and XFX compared to the 2 year warranty of PowerColor.