Need a Review - Workstation build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2009, 07:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need a Review - Workstation build

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I would go with 6gigs right now, unless it was a server. Even a workstation doesn't need 12gigs. Honestly, you will see a bigger bump in performance by using a good SSD instead of getting a huge amount of ram.
Reason I'm getting the SSD (thanks for the SSD links by the way. Switching to an OCZ) is, like you said, to cut down on RAM use by installing the applications on the SSD.

The 12GB, while I've heard over-kill, is primarily to Render. I'm aware that the applications themselves will not take all that much Ram to operate, but the render times will be significantly cut down with some settings tweaking as well as giving me the ability to work while a Render is in progress, along with running tutorial dvds and so on. I plan to render at high resolution, which is also a huge system drag as well as a long process.

Plus, the pricing on the 12GB I found is really nice considering their speed. Leaves room for future upgrading, as well as pulling out 6GB if I get another rig in the future.

But, If I've made any mistakes on the above assumptions feel free to correct me. Trying to get this computer right.
__________________

True_Avery is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 07:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Need a Review - Workstation build

Quote:
Originally Posted by True_Avery View Post
Reason I'm getting the SSD (thanks for the SSD links by the way. Switching to an OCZ) is, like you said, to cut down on RAM use by installing the applications on the SSD.

The 12GB, while I've heard over-kill, is primarily to Render. I'm aware that the applications themselves will not take all that much Ram to operate, but the render times will be significantly cut down with some settings tweaking as well as giving me the ability to work while a Render is in progress, along with running tutorial dvds and so on. I plan to render at high resolution, which is also a huge system drag as well as a long process.

Plus, the pricing on the 12GB I found is really nice considering their speed. Leaves room for future upgrading, as well as pulling out 6GB if I get another rig in the future.

But, If I've made any mistakes on the above assumptions feel free to correct me. Trying to get this computer right.
You probably know more about the applications you are working with than I do. The SSD will be good for applications, but if you get a big enough one, or two in RAID, then you can install the OS and the applications, and then the overall system performance will really take off.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Need a Review - Workstation build

Quote:
Originally Posted by True_Avery View Post
Reason I'm getting the SSD (thanks for the SSD links by the way. Switching to an OCZ) is, like you said, to cut down on RAM use by installing the applications on the SSD.

The 12GB, while I've heard over-kill, is primarily to Render. I'm aware that the applications themselves will not take all that much Ram to operate, but the render times will be significantly cut down with some settings tweaking as well as giving me the ability to work while a Render is in progress, along with running tutorial dvds and so on. I plan to render at high resolution, which is also a huge system drag as well as a long process.

Plus, the pricing on the 12GB I found is really nice considering their speed. Leaves room for future upgrading, as well as pulling out 6GB if I get another rig in the future.

But, If I've made any mistakes on the above assumptions feel free to correct me. Trying to get this computer right.
Your correct that rendering will benifit from using 12GB. Some render files can be massive - i personally have had issues when trying to render images in excess of 15-20 megapixels with 4GB of ram.

Also if you work in a few different programs at once it helps alot. Photoshop files with many layers can eat up memory very quickley...

What render are you using??
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
Gaming build review dem0x7 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 12-29-2008 10:54 PM
Please review ~$600 build for quickie replacement laurieny System Upgrades 4 12-10-2008 04:03 AM
Final Modifications Made to My Build Please Review It! Farmboy New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-31-2007 12:40 AM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.