Need a PSU under $70 for a 7950GT! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2007, 07:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

not enough 12V amps if im correct my videocard needs at LEAST 18 amps while that one you suggested only provides 14 amps.

Is that one Lord AnthraX suggestion good?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194015

I put that in and I can barly afford it. so what do you think?
__________________

Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 08:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

this is the exact PSU I have, and it works fine with my 7950 GT:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171005
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 08:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

how? it has no PCI Express connector?
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 08:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fayt19
how? it has no PCI Express connector?
When you buy your 7950GT it comes with a molex 4 pin to pci express adapter
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 08:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fayt19
how? it has no PCI Express connector?
Mine came with one.

Even if it doesn't for some reason, the 7950 GT will come with a molex adapter anyway.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 08:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Go with the Coolermaster. Its not high end, but if budget is a priority....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 09:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

hows http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954 ??

I found a way that I can bump the PSU to a MAX of $100
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 09:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Get a HIPER 580w http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817128002 Modular FTW, not only that but it's a kick-*** PSU.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 09:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fayt19
hows http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954 ??

I found a way that I can bump the PSU to a MAX of $100
If your Budget is truley 100$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371002
Antec True Power Trio TP3-550 ATX

Its pwns and it will last a long time.

But a 450 Watt Fortron will do fine.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 09:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953

42 bucks, I have it with 512mb 7950gt, no problems, one of the highest quality brands
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.