Need psu help with nvidia geforce 9600gt - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2009, 10:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Need psu help with nvidia geforce 9600gt

Quote:
Originally Posted by pickyantivirus View Post
tyvm my man, for now price aside u think the 650w psu is the best out of the lot?
the one you recomned seems good but it doesnt say if it has a seperate 12v rail with what ampage. thanks
Yes it is serperate rails, IIRC it's 18A over dual rails, so the corsair has got much amperage, but you dont need that much anyway. This psu would be great for you, unless you want to spend extra for future upgradability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Its only a single rail.

Only the hx models are multi-rail.

For your setup, a 650 will be way more than enough.

I my sigs rig, less the 2nd 260 with the 520hx, which is only like 45A

I power the 2 cards with a 700W 58A psu now.
actually the corsair is the one wit ha single rail, because single rail psu's are generally accepted as more efficient. But the modstreams are great, look up some reviews, they are just as good as the corsair, both would be plenty for your system. I would go wit hthe cheaper option since thats more then enough for you.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 10:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need psu help with nvidia geforce 9600gt

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Its only a single rail.

Only the hx models are multi-rail.

For your setup, a 650 will be way more than enough.

I my sigs rig, less the 2nd 260 with the 520hx, which is only like 45A

I power the 2 cards with a 700W 58A psu now.
One rail is usually better, because no PSU (yet) is 100% efficient, so amperage can be lost due to inefficiency
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 10:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need psu help with nvidia geforce 9600gt

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
One rail is usually better, because no PSU (yet) is 100% efficient, so amperage can be lost due to inefficiency
Oh yha, it's also useul, as you can't over load the rail.


Baron, are you talking about the 650tx?

Cause its a single rail psu, with 1 56A 12V rail.

Output +3.3V@24A,+5V@30A,+12V@52A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@3.0A

vs

620hx

Output: +3.3@24A,+5V@30A,+12V1@18A,+12V2@18A,+12V3@18A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@3A

Edit.

NVMD

You changed psu in mid thread. And your link has no mention of it, unless you click it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:26 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Need psu help with nvidia geforce 9600gt

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Oh yha, it's also useul, as you can't over load the rail.


Baron, are you talking about the 650tx?

Cause its a single rail psu, with 1 56A 12V rail.

Output +3.3V@24A,+5V@30A,+12V@52A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@3.0A

vs

620hx

Output: +3.3@24A,+5V@30A,+12V1@18A,+12V2@18A,+12V3@18A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@3A

Edit.

NVMD

You changed psu in mid thread. And your link has no mention of it, unless you click it.
my misunderstanding, i didn't change anything, but in you last post i thought you said tx models are multi railed. my bad.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G92 GeForce 9800 series rebrand as GTS 240/250 & NVIDIA GPU Lineup for 2009 Tabled Prototype New Technology and Products 11 12-29-2008 06:02 AM
NVIDIA GeForce v180.84 Driver Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-05-2008 08:43 PM
ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS for $56.99 at fxivideocards maroon1 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 07-09-2008 04:44 PM
Guitar Hero III Preacher PC Gaming 74 01-10-2008 04:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.