need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2009, 09:32 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrimstar View Post
You can get a better build for a lot cheaper.
What in particular should I change in this set-up to improve it?

Also, keep in mind that electronic devices, PC's and computer parts are in general more expensive in Europe compared to the US.
To give oyu an idea:
The i7 920 is about 385 US$ over here.
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 02:08 AM   #22 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

I'm telling you just get a Q6600 you will never use all it's power. Grab 6gb-8gb of ddr2 ram, P45 and 2 640gb western digtal black's. I used a similar system running ableton and reason in rewire w/ VST's up the ying yang. I played everything live. Not once did I think to bounce my tracks to save cpu power.
__________________

thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 04:31 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
I'm telling you just get a Q6600 you will never use all it's power. Grab 6gb-8gb of ddr2 ram, P45 and 2 640gb western digtal black's. I used a similar system running ableton and reason in rewire w/ VST's up the ying yang. I played everything live. Not once did I think to bounce my tracks to save cpu power.
Yes, I totally get your point and I know I will never use the power of that CPU.
But getting an i7 920 rig would actually not cost so much more (over here I'd pay about 300 Euro more, this is taking into consideration the CPU, mobo and RAM costs) as opposed to a core 2 quad set-up.
What makes me want to get the i7 is the fact that I will have something upgradeable in the future.
Apart from that, eventhough I will primarily use the PC for recording, I still might want to play some good games every once in a while on it.

So, yeah, I am thinking of maybe getting the i7-rig I posted above or something similar, unless someone tells me it's not good parts for that kind of set-up.
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:04 PM   #24 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

thats why I asked you if it's primarily for music. If you want to game you'll need a decent gpu. What games are you going to play?
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
thats why I asked you if it's primarily for music. If you want to game you'll need a decent gpu. What games are you going to play?
I was thinking of COD, Far Cry 2 and The Force Unleashed maybe.
WOuld sometihng like the EVGA GeForce 9800GT 512MB be good for a GPU?
Not that I knnow much about it, but one store was gonna put that into a Q6700-based PC, but in that PC I did not like the motherboard, it was an MSI P6NGM-L.
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:26 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

^ the 9800GT is a good gpu, but the HD4830 outperforms it in some games. might want to go with that. will max out those games you mentioned.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:28 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
^ the 9800GT is a good gpu, but the HD4830 outperforms it in some games. might want to go with that. will max out those games you mentioned.
Thanks! I will look it up and see how much that one costs over here !
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 08:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

So, say I do decide to go for an i7 920 processor, would this rig be a good choice of parts (apart from the GPU)?
I would also get 2 harddrives of 1TB each, I think.

Would the price be ok, too. Or is this overprized?
But do keep in ming, that here in Europe PC parts are more expensive (the i7 902 for instance costs about 350 - 380 US$ over here, just to give you an idea)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Santuzzo View Post
Here is a PC that I saw on a site of a shop in Germany that is specialized in PCs for music recording and production (I laso posted this in my other thread).

* RAM: DDR3-RAM: 3072MB DDR3-1333 Corsair/Kingston/Infineon (original)/A-DATA
* OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition
* DVD-Writer: Plextor PX-820SA; SATA (DVD-R(W), DVD+R(W); DVD-RAM; Dual-Layer)
* Keyboard,mouse: Logitech or Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB an keyboard
* hard disc: 3 pieces: Seagate Barracuda 500GB (32MB [!!] Cache; SATA; 5years warranty); 2 HDs set up in RAID-0
* case: Chieftec MIDI-Tower DX-01WD (dampened)
* case-cooler: Papst cooler 8412N/2GMLE
* graphics card: Asus EAH3650 Silent Magic; 512MB (PCIe 16x; 2x DVI (VGA via adaptor); Video (Composite/S-Video); DualHead; passive cooling; uses one PCI-slot due to Heatpipe-cooling; HDTV)
* motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-DS4 (Intel X58-Chipset; Socket 1366; max. 24GB DDR3 RAM (max. DDR3-1066); 8x SATA/300; 1x IDE/133 (2 devices); 1x GigaLAN; 1x Firewire (TI-Chip; 2x 6-pin plug sockets); 1x PCIe x1; 1x PCIe x4; 2x PCIe 2.0 x8; 1x PCIe 2.0 x16; 2x PCI; 2x PS/2; max. 12x USB2; passive Chipset-cooling; 1x serial; 4 years of warranty after registering)
* power supply: Corsair HX-520W
* Processor: Core i7-920 2,66GHz 8MB Cache In-A-Box


It is from a German site, so I translated the parts that needed translation, I hope it makes sense.

What do you guys think of this rig?
It costs 1530 Euro which is about 1960 US$.

Is it a good price?

I could also change things, it's fully customizeable, this is just one of their ready-to-go offers.

If I should change anything, what would you suggest I change?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 08:10 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

are you going to do any gaming? cause that 3650 is not going to cut it for most modern games.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 08:14 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
are you going to do any gaming? cause that 3650 is not going to cut it for most modern games.
Oh, yes, see some posts above. Considering that I do wnat to play a few games (or at least have the option to) I will get a better GPU for that.
I will check out prices of that HD4830 you recommended.

But apart from that, what do you think of this build and its price?
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.