Need a new PSU soon - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2009, 05:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dani California
Posts: 123
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
He may have known this from another thread.

EDIT: alternatively he may have just made it up lol
I love newegg, the only problem with corsair that I have is that 40-50% of ppl that have 2X2GB corsair dominator memory get their computer murdered by it with a barrage of errors.
__________________

rhcp is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

I've never heard of dominator dying. I've used two different kinds of dominator for the past few years and never had any problems with it. Very good brand of memory, and lifetime warranty.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dani California
Posts: 123
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
I've never heard of dominator dying. I've used two different kinds of dominator for the past few years and never had any problems with it. Very good brand of memory, and lifetime warranty.
I mean, wouldn't you be turned off of it if everyone that you know in real life (not the magical interwebs that you call home ) had their computer get a BSoD within 2 months of installing the corsair, and then the BSoD stops when they get some g.skill or OCz or supertalent?
rhcp is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhcp View Post
I mean, wouldn't you be turned off of it if everyone that you know in real life (not the magical interwebs that you call home ) had their computer get a BSoD within 2 months of installing the corsair, and then the BSoD stops when they get some g.skill or OCz or supertalent?
Indeed I would, but I haven't. Several of my real-life friends use Corsair Dominator too, and they have no problems. I can see your reasoning, though.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dani California
Posts: 123
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Indeed I would, but I haven't. Several of my real-life friends use Corsair Dominator too, and they have no problems. I can see your reasoning, though.
Well thanks for understanding. I think I'll TRY the 750W corsair, if it doesn't work I'm never buying another corsair product again though. Just needa make some money.

And one more thing, what's the worst that would happen if I shut down the PSU fan on my current PSU (I do this a lot) would something blow up first or would it just get a BSoD?
rhcp is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

While the Corsair name is on the PSU, Corsair does not make them. I forget who does make them for Corsair (one of three in my head, but I prefer not to look like a fool by naming the wrong one).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
While the Corsair name is on the PSU, Corsair does not make them. I forget who does make them for Corsair (one of three in my head, but I prefer not to look like a fool by naming the wrong one).
From Wikipedia:
Quote:
As of 2006, Corsair have started to sell power supplies under its own brand name based on Seasonic and Channel Well designs.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Seasonic was one of them.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dani California
Posts: 123
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Seasonic was one of them.
Doesn't mean the faulty RAM AFTER 2006 wasn't produced by Saesonic.
rhcp is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 02:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need a new PSU soon

Nope. Every company will make a lemon every now and then. For Ford there was the Contour, for Chevrolet there was the Chevette, for Yugo... hmmm.

Anyway, I have seen mixed results from the Dominator line, but Corsair's other RAM seems to still be decent. I still prefer G.Skill, Patriot, and Kingston for my RAM.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, not booting up...think it's PSU kershner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 37 01-23-2009 07:29 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.