Need new PSU....Please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Need new PSU....Please help

I recently upgraded my emachines from onboard grphx to a 9800 pro. However, my PSU is 250W and the machine restarts whenever I open a program. I plan on upgrading to this PSU:


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182006

However, I need to know if it will work. I have an emachines T2341 with this PSU:


http://affordablesurplus.com/bestec-...wer-supply.asp

I think I have a mini ATX computer case, but I am not sure. I am attaching pictures so hopefully someone can tell me if the ATX 1.3 PSU above will work for my pc.


THANKS !!!!



__________________

spetsacdc is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well I think you should measure the size of the PSU that came with the system, then look at the dimensions of the PSU rack in the case to see how much bigger it will alow. SO when you look at PSU's you can see if they will fit.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

They are both 6x 5.5x 3.5 (ATX form) and both have 20 pin connectors so I think I am good!
spetsacdc is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You have a mATX case but it looks like it holds an ATX PSU.

Don't buy the first PSU. Its not going to last powering the 9800.

I have no idea about the second one. I would still get one with more power (12v).
turtile is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Hmm do you know any good cheap ones like $20 that will power it ok? THe second one was just showing the PSU I currently have (but mine is a 250w). There are better ones than that 300W one made for emachines for the price.


Thanks
spetsacdc is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Oh ya, and where do I look in the specs for where it says the voltage (you said 12 volt was good amount). The specs can be kinda confusing
spetsacdc is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

pretty sure this should work.. somebody correct me if im wrong

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 06:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Hmm thanks, someone on another forum suggested http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103463

Which I think for now I am going with just because it is cheaper....but after shipping its only $10 cheaper so.....hmm idk
__________________

spetsacdc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.