Need a new PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 08:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default Need a new PSU

My new upgrade will mean my comp will be:

AMD Sempron 2800+ @2GHZ
1.5GB DDR RAM
80GB HD
ATI X1650 PRO 256MB

My current PSU is 300W which won't be enough so can you guys tell me how I know which PSU will fit in my computer? And also recommend me a suitable one from an online shop that can deliver to the UK?

Thanks,
__________________

matthewgilchris is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Hiper 580W Type-M Black PSU - SLI Certified with APFC

Should power that system no problem and free delivery.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Cheaper here:
Hiper HPU-4M580 580W ATX2.2 PSU - Black

That HIPER is a bit too much power for that system, but it does give a lot of headroom for future upgrades, so he wouldn't have to buy a power supply again.

If you want a cheaper one, that will just as easily power that system, I suggest:
FSP (Fortron Source) 400w
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 12:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Need a new PSU

And you guys can guarantee that any of the 3 will be compatible?

B1gapl, I'm leaning towards the second one you posted because I will probably be getting a new system rather than upgrading this again.

And is the site reputable?
matthewgilchris is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need a new PSU

The two sites posted here, are one of the most popular websites that ships the the UK, for computer parts.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Hi mate im from uk too, the best uk sites are Ebuyer, scan, there the main ones, if something isnt on Ebuyer you'll find it on scan or vice versa. Ive never had experience of scan but i know of people that have and i think there a good site to order from, ive had 3 items off Ebuyer all on next day deilvery with citylink and i got the items on time and without dents or scuffs etc, so id recommend them.
If you have the cash id recommend this one Hiper 580W Type-R Modular PSU SLI/CrossFire Certified - Black
Plenty of power for upgrades later, and its also modular which means you wont be putting a spaghetti junction of wiring into your case! you will get several cables in a seperate box, you just then use the cables that YOU need, the rest stay in the box, hence a better looking case with less cluttered cables and better airflow.
Any more questions feel free to ask
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Is it guaranteed to work in my computer?

And the same with the one b1gapl posted....guaranteed to be compatible?

Cause I'd rather not spend £50 or even £80 if £32 will do.
matthewgilchris is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Don't worry. It's compatible. Otherwise, we would of recommended another one.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Thank you so much then all of you. I will order the £32 one as soon as I can.
matthewgilchris is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewgilchris View Post
Thank you so much then all of you. I will order the 32 one as soon as I can.
yeah you can do but its not modular so you will have loads of unused cables clogging up your system and looking a mess, up to you though, ive no dout its a good psu but not for air flow.
If i were you id seriously consider spending abit more(at least 50) and get a modular one, or even better the one i posted.
Someone might say hey he doesnt need to spend that much, and for what you have right now, no you dont need to, but since you said your upgrading soon then the best you can afford is what you should be looking at, not the cheapest! thats my 2cents anyway
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.