Need a new PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2007, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Need a new PSU

Well from what i've read, this antec smartpower doesn't have much life left in it. So before it quits on me, im gonna buy something new, and more reliable. So basically what im looking for is something that is reliable, modular cabling, and is gonna be able to power the pc in my sig, plus an 8800gts, and maybe an e6600 way down the line. I have 160 dollars MAX to spend, but i'd like to keep it below, or right at 100, cause im buyin an 8800gts soon.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need a new PSU

These PSU brands are reliable, have modular cabling, and below your price range:
Newegg.com - HIPER HPU-4K580-MS ATX12V v2.2 580W Power Supply 100 - 120V - Retail

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Thanks, ill probably go with the corsair, just because it looks more reliable. One other question i do have though, is that i didn't install the PSU on my computer, and only 20 pins out of the 24 are plugged into my motherboard. Why is that? what would happen if i plugged in all 24?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Both are excellent choices there.

here are some good PSU's that are right around 100 bucks though.

Newegg.com - XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P3 550W ATX12V 550W Power Supply 100-240V / 200-240V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
Newegg.com - Antec True Power Trio TP3-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply with Three 12V Rails 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, FCC, TÜV, CE, C-tick, CCC, CB - Retail

Hrm that's odd....I would think it needs the extra 4 pin connector. Nothing should happen as thats what the motherboard has one for. You could put it in if you want and see.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: Need a new PSU

Yeah thats what i would think, but it works fine now so im not that tempted to do it lol.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.