In need of a new nic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 02:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default In need of a new nic

Unfortunately the Ethernet port on my mother board has failed me and it no longer works. Luckily I have a spare network interface card (nic) that I'm using right now but it's a piece of junk. I'm plagued with high pings and lag, and I'm being pwned in my online games because of it. I don't want to rma my mobo, I'd rather just buy a new nic. The problem is, the only one advertised specifically for gamers is this:

Newegg.com - Bigfoot Networks Killer NIC M1 10/ 100/ 1000Mbps PCI Network Adapter with a 400 MHz Network Processing Unit (NPU) 1 x RJ-45, 1 x USB2.0 - Retail

But the price on it is insane and I've heard it isn't as good as the hype makes it out to be anyway.

So I'd really appreciate it if someone can recommend a nic that would decrease my ping and reduce my lag. My budget is 50.00 but I seriously just want to get back to enjoying tf2 so if you know of one that's good but costs more, post a link to it anyway. Thanks for advance.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: In need of a new nic

my friend has one, he has crazy low ping in preaty much everygame, they work well ,but is a low ping worth 250$ if your nto a pro gamer, i think not, im sure you can fidn a descent one, if not instead of spending 250 on a new network card get a new mobo instead, like a maximus formula i love mine, and would recomend it over a 250$ nic.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: In need of a new nic

^that killernic is a POS ive seen benchmarks where people playing WOW would get ALOT worse pings then their normal nics

the killernic is just like a physics card, its a good idea, but in reality it sucks and it is overpriced and only for n00bs who dont know any better
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: In need of a new nic

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
^that killernic is a POS ive seen benchmarks where people playing WOW would get ALOT worse pings then their normal nics

the killernic is just like a physics card, its a good idea, but in reality it sucks and it is overpriced and only for n00bs who dont know any better
exactly... your p35-ds3r Ethernet RJ-45 Port is the same speeds at it, but the NIC has a little bit more speed... I don't think its worth it to get a little more speed for $200 do you?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: In need of a new nic

any 40 dollar 10/100 1000mbps NIC will work just as good as your ethernet port.
this one will work just fine:
Newegg.com - NETGEAR GA311 10/ 100/ 1000Mbps PCI Gigabit Adapter 1 x RJ45 - Retail

your NIC is not going to really help ping/lag. any card that meets ^ those specs will perform the same. lag comes from high latency from the server, either they dont have enough bandwidth or system specs to run the server they are running, or your card/cpu is heating up (which causes terrible stuttering), or there is a player(s) on the server trying to run max settings with a POS system and running a 250+ ping.
the Killer card is a gimmick. but, it does have that neet belt buckle attached to it ...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: In need of a new nic

Thanks for the link nagasma. But trust me it is true that it can be the nic's fault if you have high pings or lag. I know because ever since my ethernet port stopped working and I started using the spare nic, my pings have been higher and I have seen more lag. And this is on a variety of servers. Also, if I am downloading a torrent while browsing the web, webpages take about 5 seconds longer to load now than they did if I was downloading a torrent and browsing at the same time with the ethernet port on my mobo. I think it's just bad at handling packets or something.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: In need of a new nic

are you sure that your ISP isn't throttling your speed?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 02:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: In need of a new nic

Yea we're paying for 3mbits and speedtest.net is detecting about 2.8 which is within the margin of error for dsl subscribers.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: In need of a new nic

either get a new nic or get a new mobo.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: In need of a new nic

^^ I know, I created this thread to ask people if they could recommend a good nic. I have added nagasma's recommendation to my wish list and I'll probably be buying it within a few days.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.