Need a new mobo.. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2008, 03:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

You usually get what you pay for though..Ive heard nothing but good things about the zalman. I probably wont go up to 3.8ghz, but ive heard people using the zalman for 4 ghz and 35-40C idle and 45+ on load. thats not bad at all, and if those stats are consistent, then id buy the zalman. I dont mind the extra $30 or so for something nice. And ive heard that AS5 is better than mx2 because of the silver particles and other stuff. If price didnt matter, the zalman would be the best right?
__________________

Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 03:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

Not always true ^

Zalman is just a luxury brand, they overprice stuff because they look "decent"

The Sunbeam is just as good
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 04:00 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

So cooling is equal, if thats the case then i'll get the zalman for the extra $$$ because i do want my computer to look sweet. It definitely hasnt been a budget build yet so why start now..

But what thermal paste do you guys recommend if I do use the zalman on an e8400?
Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 04:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

TX-2 still...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 04:17 PM   #25 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtumble2 View Post
So cooling is equal, if thats the case then i'll get the zalman for the extra $$$ because i do want my computer to look sweet. It definitely hasnt been a budget build yet so why start now..

But what thermal paste do you guys recommend if I do use the zalman on an e8400?
The Core Contact cools better and is quieter. Here is a list of the top 10 heatsinks.
Top 5 Intel & AMD Heatsinks on Frostytech

Even if the price didn't matter I would still recommend the Sunbeam.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:45 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

The zalman 9700 looks soo much better though..... no but that is a really good price for something that performs as well as it does. I might get that. just a question, how do you apply thermal paste on something like this, the regular way or somethin else

Edit: Btw, would it even fit on my mobo if i were to get the asus p45?
Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:51 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

Apply on the CPU (rice grain shape) then mount the cooler on, and plug in the wire it has to the JCFAN port (then put your board in the case)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

You dont smother it all over the cpu and some on the bottom? JK but just a rice grain?
Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:57 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

Like the shape and size of it is how much you put, so when you mount the cooler it spreads itself evenly
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 07:18 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Need a new mobo..

Ok, so just one, rice shaped tiny smudge in the middle of the cpu top. Thats it. then mount the cooler down and all that
__________________

Jtumble2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need new mobo and/or CPU dude112 System Upgrades 2 08-17-2008 12:03 PM
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.