Need New Hardware: $700 budget. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2005, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Need New Hardware: $700 budget.

Hi, I'm new to the whole building scene. I have been a serious gamer for quite some time now, playing mostly Counter-Strike. I have been able to run the game well for nearly four years on my Dell, but I now think it is time for an upgrade. I don't know much about what goes on inside my PC, so if this information isn't sufficient just let me know and ill try to help.

Current PC:

I have case, keyboard, mouse
Processor: 2.8 Ghz P4 no HT
Ram: 512 MB of w/e Dell sold 4 years ago
HD: Need new
Video Card: Also need new. This is my priority. Used to have an ATI Radeon 9700 Pro.
Sound Card: Works very well, I'm not thinking of replacing. Don't know the name.
Power Supply: No idea. I guess it was large enough to power all of the above.

What I need:

I must get a video card capable of handling all games out now, and many in the future.

A decent hard drive, around 80-120 Gb.

I have a total of $700 to spend, so if anyone can tell me what to purchase to make my PC run the best it possibly can under that budget, I would be very grateful. If it goes 10-20 bucks over the limit, no worries.

Thanks a lot.

dhmiles is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop

I'm willing to bet you have PCI instead of AGP. You need to make sure because if you do, your kinda screwed....

Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3

I'm almost possitive i have an AGP, because the ATI 9700 Pro was one of the first to utilize it. I don't have my pc with me right now, but if you could tell me how i could find out, that would be great.

EDIT: I just checked online and the Dell 8250 has "4 PCI slots, 1 - 4x AGP slot..."
dhmiles is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 11:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291

Download everest. If your card was one of the first to use AGP it is likely you have AGP 4X which means you are limited to what card you can buy
weringo is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3

I have an AGP 4x slot, will I be able to use a "AGP 4x/8x" video card?
dhmiles is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 01:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

Yes you will but the performance will be less with 4x then 8x

Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.