Need a new display... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2008, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Need a new display...

I've just about had it with my LCD monitor. The Viewsonic is officially, a POS. To translate that, it literally means just that because I've been farting on it all day.

I'm thinking about just getting one of those LCDTVs. Anyone have experience with them? Here's the deal: I want to be able to hook it up to my PC, via DVI. At the same time, I want to be able to use the coaxial cable in my room to watch regular television. I give up on the traditional LCDs, and the TV Tuner card that I have in my PC. Quality just isn't there, plus, it doesn't work anymore (cannot find video capture device--that's the error I'm getting).

So now, I can't even watch TV, lol. So I figure if I get an LCDTV, I have the best of both worlds. What are some things I should look for in an LCDTV? Brand perferences? Experiences with them?

Do the new plasma TVs have DVI interface to support PCs? If so, I may just consider getting a plasma TV.
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Need a new display...

i have a sceptre 42 inch 1080p. Id reccomend a 1080p definitely if you can run it, a 720p will look all big an blocky and ugly.
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Need a new display...

How much did that set you back in terms of price? I think it's in the thousands at least.

I was thinking at least 1080 also, whether they're interlaced or not. I'm just getting into all these TV technology. Did you guys know that the new Nvidia GeForce 9800 GX2 series now have a standard HDMI slot?!?!? How cool is that? Now you can directly use your plasma HDTVs or LCDTVs with your PCs. My concern is the quality. I hear that HDMI is exactly like DVI, but HDMI also supports digital sound where DVI is only digital video.

The trend these days is to combine TV and PC together. Have everything use one display. Simplifies things, unless of course, you have a large family and everyone want to watch TV except for you who have to do an online exam on the PC, hehe.

So many decisions to make. Either I upgrade my video card to the GX2 and get a new plasma flat screen HVTV or get a simple LCDTV. If I get the GX2, I'll have the most powerful video card in my neighborhood that can play virtually any wonderful games in the world. Hmmm, but watching TV is just so much of a priority.



Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GV-NX98X1GHI-B GeForce 9800 GX2 1GB (512MB per GPU) 512-bit (256-bit per GPU) GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Need a new display...

a few things. First off, your graphics card doesent need an hdmi slot, i use a dvi to hdmi cable. Also, DO NOT GET PLASMA!!! it will burn in!!! set me back exactly one thousand, and that was a deal. Get p not i, mine ghosts just a hair occasionally, not enough to notice, but if it was interlaced...
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Need a new display...

I didn't realize there was a DVI to HDMI converter. They also have an adapter to convert HDMI to DVI too? But in either case, should I choose LCDTV, the HDMI isn't important. Hmmm, let me look more into the LCDTV.

What are the advantages of LCDTV or Plasma HDTV?
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Need a new display...

You can't really go any lower then 1080p as far as LCDTV using as a monitor unless you want a huge resolution (such as 1024x768). Although I don't have any first hand experience, I have heard that the newer plasmas have little to no burn in. Can anyone who owns one comment?
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 01:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Need a new display...

Hmmm, those 1080p LCDTV can get pretty expensive. That's why I'm considering the plasma 1080p too because they're almost the same price, but they're a lot brighter too.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Need a new display...

sitting so close to a tv that size is gonna suck. Its got to be 3-4 feet away
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 02:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Need a new display...

Oh no, I don't plan on setting it that close. I have my monitor sitting on a utlity shelf. I sit about a good 5-6 feet away from my current monitor. The 19" bugs me too being that small.

I don't plan on getting anything bigger than 20 something inches though because I have a small room. Maybe 22" or something.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 07:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Iron Feet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aurora,IL
Posts: 172
Default Re: Need a new display...

I'm going with at least a 22" for my next monitor and probably a 24". I was looking at some 24" monitors over the weekend and saw one at Staples on clearance for $170. It was an off brand LCD flatscreen, I don't remember the name or specs on it but it had a nice looking picture. For $170 I should have got it.

The 24" monitors are perfect on a desk for gaming if you have the room for it. Big, but not too big.
__________________

Iron Feet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 06:50 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.