Need a new card but unsure as to which - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2007, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Need a new card but unsure as to which

Hey all
I am going to get a new graphic card and need some suggestions
However i cant afford to go over 400 Euros
I was thinking along the lines of a nivida 8600gts
Whatever card i get i want to have dx10 support
Since i am not great at computer hardware ill need to know if it will work with my mother board: ASrock 939Dual-SATA2
Also will i need to update my power supply? : AC 230V (dont really know what that means)

Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
__________________

Player87 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

400 Euros is about $535 in USD. Well you can get a 8800GTS 320mb along with a Xclio Greatpower 550W PSU or Corsair 520HX/620HX for your PSU needs. Always look at the AMPs, not the Wattage. Grab all the AMPs you can get because that's what powers everything!
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

So i need to get a new power supply for definite?
And is that card compatible with my mother board?
I know i know i am pc retarded but i am learning

Thanks for the help
Player87 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

Welcome to Tech-Forums!

I tend to forget to watch out for the newcomers! Well, you're here to learn so there's no need to feel that way. Does your motherboard have a PCI-e slot? If it does, then all you need is a new PSU and getting that 8800GTS 320mb is fine. The reason why I suggest you get the 320mb is because the 640mb is only 1% performance increase, when you can overclock the 320mb and have a better result in performance.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

Thanks for the welcome
Using everest home edition i found out the following:

3 pci, 1 pci-e x1, 1 pci-x16, 1 agp, 1 future cpu port

Hopefully thats alright

Also on a side note, i had a 7800gt before until it died on me and at the same time my computer started making loud noises
Friend of mine said it was the cpu fan but when i plugged out all fans on the pc except the power supply fan i still had the noise

Perhaps it was my power supply that killed the card?

Anyways thanks for the help :happy:
Player87 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

look on your power supply to see the amps on the 12v rails and wattage
my intro to electrical circuts class doesnt start for a few more weeks so i dont know what 230v AC is
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

LOL, 230V AC is 230 volts of alternating current. The good stuff. This the input current for the PSU and it what comes out of the outlet. In America, we use 120/125V AC. In Europe/China and pretty much the rest of the world, they use 230V AC.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

yes, the ASrock 939 Dual-SATA2 does have a PCI-E 16x slot.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

wat is your current processing unit?
wouldnt want a bottleneck
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Need a new card but unsure as to which

even the lower end K8 processors aren't going to hugely bottleneck it. Except for maybe the Semprons (but they're extremely rare in socket 939)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.