need monster build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2007, 08:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

ok great now we can work on what actually to put in it..... do you have any time constraints as in do you want this within a week, a month, a month but prepared to rip everything out in 6 months

you can buy now and go intel or wait for the intel price drop on july 22nd or wait for the AMD's new processors in 6 months. by the way your computer is never future proof within a month atleast one of your components would of become obselete
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 09:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default Re: need monster build

2 grand and you couldnt just buy another desk?
__________________

plant is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 05:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: need monster build

Quote:
Originally Posted by plant View Post
2 grand and you couldnt just buy another desk?
my room is in the loft/attic so nah cos this is the only one that fits
JRatcliffe is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 05:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: need monster build

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
ok great now we can work on what actually to put in it..... do you have any time constraints as in do you want this within a week, a month, a month but prepared to rip everything out in 6 months

you can buy now and go intel or wait for the intel price drop on july 22nd or wait for the AMD's new processors in 6 months. by the way your computer is never future proof within a month atleast one of your components would of become obselete
looking to bulid over summer as project looking at the new quads are they the ones dropping in july ?
JRatcliffe is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 07:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: need monster build

I honestly dont get this bs about waiting for crap to come out its totally pointless, because once that comes out something better is going to come so your screwed either way. Heres what ya do build a $2,000 computer and keep the other 2 grand on the side and just use that sum of cash to update the current one you have when other stuff comes out.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 07:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

I am only trying to get him the best build if he has no deadline then he might aswell wait until the last minute, If he wants a build now thenwe will give him a build for now
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: need monster build

q6600
msi or p6n
tuniq tower
corsair 620w
2gb gskill hz's
evga 8800gtx
seagate 500gb *4 in raid 0
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

raid5 is better and get 5x500gb and your doing video recoring/editing so 3gb of ram..... get the evga version of the 8800gtx and then upgrade to a 8900gt if it is delayed past july
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: need monster build

3gb of ram wouldnt it be better to get 4gb?
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

na he would only 3gb and as he is going to be using a 32bit OS it won't matter either way just whichever works out cheaper
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking my Build... Aynite New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-02-2007 05:28 PM
Should I add a raptor to my build? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-26-2007 01:52 PM
A Brand New Build! Need Help Please! khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 42 05-23-2007 11:28 AM
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.