need monster build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2007, 07:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default need monster build

i got 2k () 4K($) to spend - joy of being single guy living at home !

i need a furture prof case and a monster build (really like look of elder scrolls - like to see all detail) pc that will last bout 3 yrs

few limits tho biggest monitor 19"(dont know bout widescreen (benifts etc)) case needs to fit 30cm tall and not very wide maybe bout 15-20cm max and parts need to be availible in uk..

other then that you have free range

ps like look of new quad core are there worth it?
pps im v pc savy but never brough bits to build pc before (normally built from spares lieing round)
__________________

JRatcliffe is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 07:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

does this build have a deadline as the longer you wait the more technology available and cheaper the prices.

how many gigs of hdd?

what will the pc be used for?

have you thought about a htpc or desktop case as that would eliminate the height requirements asmost are under 20cm tall but theyre wide
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: need monster build

Thermaltake Armor VA8000 - was a case i like but it looks huge
i need bout 500 gbs min but 2tbs would be nice expandably would be nice as will thinking of super fast 150/200 gb drive for games and os (ubuntu - xp home duel boot) and maybe two mid speed 500/750 in raid 0

needed for adverage uses(writing letters surfing net (Mother)) but mostly gaming online and stand alone, web site buliding, watching, storing tv, streaming to laptop, remote acess, etc (Me)
JRatcliffe is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

a super fast drive gives you small performance boost..... its not worth it in terms of price/performance are you sure you want one...
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

to fit that height your going to have to go with desktop as micro atx is slightly too tall Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

how large a width can you do?
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: need monster build

size can be 30-35ish high 15--25 cm wide and bout 40cm deep

sorry bout the drive issue yea ok if the boot is not noticable i dont mind losing the super speed drive
JRatcliffe is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

so the one in my link would be ok....

for that kind of hdd capacity your going to struggle with size constraints as a tower doesn't lend itself to large hdd capacity and a desktop needs a wide space but isn't the best for gaming. are you sure that you can't fit it anywhere else??? with a desktop which is the simple solution you can put the monitor on top of the pc make it old school lol or just put it in the corner of the desk with the monitor next to it that would be my recommendation as your dimensions are just too small for the functionality you want. the only other alternatives are to limit your functionality or to build your own case its quite simple as there are templates for everything you need freely available on the net and you just need an aptitude for DIY
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: need monster build

yea size wise but only 1 drive bay?
JRatcliffe is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need monster build

read above post^^^^
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: need monster build

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
read above post^^^^
yea sorry just measured the gap (with tape measure) and it bigger then i thought YEA:laughing: i can fit somthing like a Thermaltake Armor VA8000
__________________

JRatcliffe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking my Build... Aynite New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-02-2007 05:28 PM
Should I add a raptor to my build? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-26-2007 01:52 PM
A Brand New Build! Need Help Please! khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 42 05-23-2007 11:28 AM
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.