Need a long lasting rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 01:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 106
Default Need a long lasting rig

Hey fellas I wanted to build a good rig for myself. Something that will last for say 3 years. What ****es me off is that last year I bout socket 939 mobo and now it is almost obsolete since dual core cpus are out. Anywho, I was thinking of getting the following:

e6600
8800gtx



I need some advice as to what mobo, and ram should I get.
__________________

sammytheman is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 36
Default

nvidia 680i mofo, 2 gigs ram. I'll have my e6600, 8800GTX, 680i, and 2 gigs coming in 2 weeks or so I can't wait!
Go with EVGA, too. They have great stuff all around
__________________

Greenplantseed is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

an e6600, gigabyte ds3, 8800gts, 2 gigs of DDR2 800, will last you three years easily
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 106
Default

Ok there are too many kinds of RAM out there like OCZ Extreme, Platinum nad so on. Mind you, the prices vary greatly. Which 1 should I purchase?
sammytheman is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

How much are you looking to spend on ram and are you gonna be overclocking or gaming? Well with that build it seems like you will be gaming. heh
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 106
Default

I hear that as long as you have 2 gigs of ram, it really doesn't matter how much you spend on them. And yes I need a rig for gaming.
sammytheman is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 02:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

All ram is not created equal. I'm sure someone else will flame you on that so i'm not going to. Just buy nice ram from a good vender.....
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 02:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

g skill is a good brand
crucial ballistix
ocz
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need a long lasting rig

Quote:
Originally posted by sammytheman
Hey fellas I wanted to build a good rig for myself. Something that will last for say 3 years. What ****es me off is that last year I bout socket 939 mobo and now it is almost obsolete since dual core cpus are out. Anywho, I was thinking of getting the following:

e6600
8800gtx



I need some advice as to what mobo, and ram should I get.
what kind of cpu do you have now? how much money do you have/want to spend?
a lot of people run x2's in socket 939.
but, anyway, if you have the money to spend, i agree with everyone else, i just thought i'd throw that out there about the dual core that will fit in your socket.
i don't think anything will last you three years and still be top notch/cutting edge, so "lasting three years" is really relative to what you are going to be using it for.
but yeah, unfortunately the only upgrade path for 939 is the x2... although i'm sure it could last three years as well.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

No the only route in not x2. Opterons are some of the better dual cores for s939. They have better cores then the x2's.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.