Need a little bit more help...almost there! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2006, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default Need a little bit more help...almost there!

So I managed to squeeze the Scythe Ninja in there. Everything else done. Fired it up, it's not reading a couple things in the BIOS.

I've got 2 optical drives (DVD-R and DVD-RW), 1 floppy, and 2 HDs (1 37GB 10K RPM, 1 200GB 7200RPM)

BIOS Main screen:

Pri IDE Master: Not Detected
Pri IDE Slave: Not Detected
Third IDE Master: 37.0GB
Third IDE Slave: Not Detected
Fourth IDE Master: Not Detected
Fourth IDE Slave: Not Detected

OK now if I go into Pri IDE and select "Auto" it sees the DVD drive and appears that way when I return to main screen. However, no sign from DVD-RW drive (it's not a dead drive, it's got power cause the drive tray opens out), and no sign from the 200GB'er. The 37GB is SATA and 200GB is IDE.

Also, if I restart, it doesn't "save" the changes of how it recognized the DVD drive and goes back to how I have it written above as Not Detected.

Anyone have any suggestions? Almost there!!

RM
__________________

__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

Quick word on temps, out of BIOS the E6700 is running at 25C, and that's without my mega 25cm side fan blowing on it.

RM
__________________

__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

OK I got to the Boot page and under Hard Disk Drives, both show up, but in the Main page the 200GB is nowhere to be found. What gives?

RM
__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

OK! Got the 2 opti drives to work just fine. Now the 200GB hd is only thing not coming up.

37GB SATA works fine. So, does the 200GB count as a slave (since my 37GB SATA would be my "master") or is it still a master, since it is the only IDE drive (and only IDE drive on its cable)? This will affect my jumper settings and which color of the IDE cable goes into the HD. Can someone help me out here?

RM
__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 09:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

Can anyone help? Really need to get this PC up and running for online music courses.

RM
__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 10:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

No clue, but nice little setup you got there.
__________________

__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.