Need input selecting parts for my first build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chumly

Baseband Member
I need some help deciding on the last components of my first build.

But first, some background on my PC needs. I'm a student and will only be using this for word processing, web surfing, watching movies, and some moderate gaming, so I will only need a single core and I already have that picked out.

I don't know much about building a PC and don't have much time (studying, classes, work) to research all of this, so please be patient. I've looked at this forum and a few others, along with some sites, and am keeping a list of useful pages, so I'm learning :bald:

Anyway, I do want a 'fast' PC, though, even if most of what I will use it for won't necessarily require it (I hate slow computers). I plan on using this PC for the next few years, and at some point might also like to overclock it. I don't know much about which components (motherboard and memory) and brands/models are best for OCing and which are compatible with which, so that's why I only have a few things picked out and need help finishing the list.

Budget is around $1,500 USD. If it goes over by a hundred or so then that's okay, but preferably close to that. Orders will be from Newegg. Also, I already have a mouse, keyboard, and monitor (speakers not important; I use headphones).

I'll go ahead and first list the components I have picked out (with some comments underneath). For some of those things that I still need I kind of have an idea about but am unsure of which brand, exact model, etc.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 -- $319.99

PSU: Fortron 400W -- $41.99
I'll go with what I read in TriEclipse's thread.

Case: Antec P180B -- $129.99