Need Input Guys on what I should do... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2007, 02:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Need Input Guys on what I should do...

I understand that it's better than all older cards. However it is only 15% faster than the X1950XT stock but for 65% more of the price. I am a bang for buck guy and I do not need DX10 right now and my 1440x900 res isn't anything large so I should be fine.

Like I said I have my doubts the G80 will be powerful enough for games late this year becuase I mean....they will be a year old by then.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 02:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need Input Guys on what I should do...

but older dx9 cards can play crysis. i wouldn't worry about a year old card not handling a game
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 02:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Need Input Guys on what I should do...

No one knows for sure what Crysis can play yet becuase it wasn't fully optimized. However Like I said I just think that using a DX9 card that is fast enough to handle every game I need until DX10 and THEN upgrading to a card that will be the price of an 8800GTS except faster will be my best bet.

Plus I can afford the X1950XT very soon
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 02:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need Input Guys on what I should do...

whats ur job?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 02:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Need Input Guys on what I should do...

I am a Lifeguard and I start the 18th. AHHHH I WANT THIS CARD

Newegg.com - Open Box: HIS Hightech H195XT256DVN-R Radeon X1950XT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - OEM

!!!!! a HIS X1950XT! *drool* the HIS have better coolers which means I can keep it cool >.<

EDIT: dammit I don't know how long that will be there and if I were to buy my second HDD now I would have to wait until 2 weeks to get the money. God **** decisions
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 02:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need Input Guys on what I should do...

whoa...that's a nice price, even though it's open box. You gettin' that one Sora?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 02:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Need Input Guys on what I should do...

I am seriously considering purchasing that card very soon before they go out of stock. Most likely soncisdering how long the Saphire ones were up there it should be there for another 2 weeks....at least a week and a half I hope.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One of the many build input threads Eagleboy New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-01-2007 08:08 AM
What do you think guys? Future plans Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 20 05-30-2007 04:25 PM
can you guys recommend a DVD player rookie1010 Off Topic Discussion 6 05-06-2007 07:58 PM
This barebone..any input? immy3 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-18-2007 06:33 PM
can you guys help me to switch to being an administrator on my windows vista machine rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-03-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.