Need help with an upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2009, 08:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Smile Need help with an upgrade

hey guys, long time no see. TF has changed a lot

well, my rig is in my signature. i was thinking of upgrading the processor to a quad core maybe. my current mobo supports only LGA 775, so i want to stick to something thats compatible. also maybe be looking for a memory upgrade. any suggestions guys???
i was looking at the Q8200 CPU, tell me what you guys think of it.

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

any memory suggestions?? and why are they so expensive, i thought DDR2's were cheaper these days.

thanks guys, appreciate any help.
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Need help with an upgrade

it looks like your motherboard does support the new quad cores, but it may need a bios update, depending on how long you had that board for...

As for the cpu you picked out, it seems decent enough, and it should give you a considerable boost over your current prescott. Your motherboard only has two ram slots, so you'll have to replace your current sticks with either 2X1Gb, or 2X2Gb. If you have 32bit windows, you can't go for 2X2gb (4gb of ram) because 32bit windows can only support a maximum of 3gb of ram; so you'll either have to upgrade your windows to a 64bit version as well, or just get 2gigs... which should still give you a nice boost over what you're currently using... but i recommend you get 4gbs of ram and get 64bit windows.

With those upgrades, your overall computing should improve considerably.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Need help with an upgrade

How much are you willing to spend? And RAM recently rose in price. It will probably stay high for a while. And he can go for 4GB and use it with 32 bit, but it will only recognize anywhere from 3-3.5GB, which will do no harm, and give him the option for 64-bit later.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 03:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: Need help with an upgrade

i was thinking of upgrading to windows 7 soon , so i wanted to go with the 4gb (2X2GB).
i've had the board for a year, but i dont really know how to update my bios.
The only reason that I was looking at the Q8200 is because it is the cheapest quad core out there. i dont know if i should go for a cheaper one or a more expensive.
About the ram, i was thinking 2x2gb, but dont know which one to get, and they are pretty expensive. do their timings matter??? any suggestion on which ones to get?

initially, my budget is about $200 US, but i am flexible with my budget, and if you guys can convince me in getting a better deal/performance, i can go higher or lower.
i want to use my computer as a minor gaming + minor video editing.

so let me know guys.
any help would be appreciated

thanks.
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 07:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Need help with an upgrade

OCX Flex II - It's currently on sale @ $80.

No matter what quad core you get, its going to blow away what you had before. Q8200 is fine if your on a tight budget.
alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i install windows from a copied cd onto a licenced pc? raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-23-2009 03:08 PM
Having major OS Dilemma & free upgrade win7 coupon rocknje Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-18-2009 02:27 PM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.