Need Help Summer Build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2006, 08:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Default

how does this motherboard look for the conroe?

Foxconn 975X7AA-8EKRS2H Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186097
__________________

ren0nie0 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

dude....right now no motherboards support conroe.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 09:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Default

broadwater chip... ok. well i'll just wait for the conroe to come out before thinking about the cpu and motherboard.... what does everyone think aout my proposed powersupply and the 7600GT as a hold over till the dx10 cards come out... and of course the parts i proposed.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16811133154
Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16817153028
Thermaltake W0093RU 500W Power Supply (not sure bout this...)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820227047
OCZ Gold Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2

2 MAXTOR 250 GB HD's at 74.99

1 Samsung Optical Drive at 39.99
ren0nie0 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 09:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Bad links. Here's working ones.

Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133154

Thermaltake W0093RU 500W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16817153028.

OCZ Gold Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227047


I don't know much about power supplies. But I hear Antec is supposed to be really good. There is another thread right on the front page about power supplies. I recommend you check it out.

Also, what's the link to your hard drive?
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 10:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

yeah I would go with Antec...I don;t know if thermaltake PSUs are very good.

I have a 500 watt Antec Smartpower. I love it.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 10:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Default

what do you think of two 250gb maxtor hd's. what would be the best quality / cost efficient solution for a 500gb or more storage capability? with performance obviously also a factor.
ren0nie0 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 11:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
dude....right now no motherboards support conroe.
Sorry but you are incorrect, there are a few mobos that support Conroe.

Quote:
what do you think of two 250gb maxtor hd's. what would be the best quality / cost efficient solution for a 500gb or more storage capability? with performance obviously also a factor.
I wouldn't get Maxtor. Many people have had problems with them. I would look into getting WD or Seagate.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 11:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

I would personally get two of these if I needed that amount of space. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

The 16mb cache is amazing. I have one in my media center, and it boots up just a split second longer than my friends computer which has a 36gb raptor.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 08:58 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Default

what mobo supports conroe. also what antec powersupply would be sufficient for this type of build? if in fact antec is the way to go?
__________________

ren0nie0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.